2021 DAJ Tokai Chapter Election is Open for Voting!

Voting for the 2021 DAJ Tokai Chapter Election is now open! Send in your ballot by June 26th!

Please download the following document for everything you need in order to vote, including instructions for casting your ballot, the statements from the candidates, and your empty ballot: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1X1GM92E2EnA5zReClXbS10FQ6Rh2BUQq/view?usp=sharing

Information will also be listed below:

Voting Instructions

Please fill out the attached ballot and vote your preference for each of the officer positions. Indicate your choice by marking the box before the name of your chosen candidate for office. Each candidate listed has confirmed their interest in each position. Voting for a write-in candidate is allowed, but that candidate must meet the eligibility requirements for that position and accept said position within 30 days of receiving a plurality of votes after the election. You must both print your name and sign the bottom of the ballot. Unsigned ballots are considered to be invalid under the Democratic National Committee (DNC) bylaws.

You can submit your ballot in one of two ways in this election:

  • Fill out the ballot electronically and attach it in an e-mail to [email protected]
  • Print the ballot, fill it out, scan or take a photo, and attach it in an e-mail to [email protected]

Voting closes on June 26th at 11:59pm JST. All ballots must be received by this time. As a reminder, in order to vote in this election, you must be an American citizen, 18 years of age or older, a member of Democrats Abroad Japan, and a resident of the Tokai region (Aichi, Gifu, and Mie Prefectures) of Japan.

Ballot Tallying

After being received, the NEC will count the ballots and make a full report to the DAJ Tokai membership by June 30th, 2021. The ballots will be tallied by the NEC on Sunday June 27th at 3pm JST online via WebEx. Anyone in our membership may attend as a neutral observer to the process.

WebEx Link: https://democratsabroad.webex.com/webappng/sites/democratsabroad/meeting/info/cdd2a927472108181f47b00fea3c76d2
Password: dems

If you have any questions concerning the ballot process or procedures, please contact the NEC at [email protected]

Paul Smith, Jason Morgan, and Anna Costello
DAJ 2021 Tokai Nomination and Election Committee