Saturday, June 29

(virtual)

Wisconsin Redistricting & Ballot Measures for the August Primary Election

For decades, extreme gerrymandering suppressed Democratic votes at the state level and gave a near-supermajority in the legislature to the Wisconsin GOP, despite the fact that Wisconsin is a true purple state. Last year, Wisconsin voters elected liberal justice Janet Protasiewicz to the state Supreme Court. Shortly thereafter, the gerrymandered maps were declared unconstitutional by the reconfigured court, and Governor Evers signed in new, fair maps. This year's August primary will mark the first time that the new, fairly drawn maps will be applied. 

Also on the ballot this August are two important constitutional amendments: one that, if approved, would require the state legislature's approval before the governor can allocate federal money appropriated to the state; and another that, if approved, would add language to the state Constitution specifying that only U.S. citizens who are 18 years old or older can vote in federal, state, local, or school elections.

Join us on June 29 to hear from a knowledgeable panel of speakers about the new maps and ballot measures, and what you need to know about these issues before casting your primary vote. 

RSVP Below!

Invited speakers: 

  • Wisconsin Fair Maps Coalition 
  • Wisconsin Conservation Voters 
  • Wisconsin Education Association Council
  • Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
  • Wisconsin Public Health Association
Time Locations
9:00 a.m. Chicago, Madison, Minneapolis, Panama
10:00 a.m. New York, Boston, Washington DC
3:00 p.m. London, Lisbon
4:00 p.m. Paris, Munich, Madrid, Rome
7:30 p.m. New Delhi
11:00 p.m. Tokyo

 

Haven't yet requested your ballot and want some help from the experts? After the event, join us in the Zoom Room for live, one-on-one voter assistance. To join, click the link: https://qrco.de/bbh0zg

WHEN

Saturday, June 29, 2024 at 10:00 AM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time

WHERE


This is a virtual event. See the event description above or RSVP for virtual participation options.

CONTACT

Annie Graul

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.
If you are already a member of Democrats Abroad, please enter your name and email address that you have on your membership record.

12 RSVPs