Sunday, February 18

(virtual)

The Cost of Inheritance: Film Viewing

RSVP

The_Cost_of_Inheritance.jpg

Join the DA Reparations Task Force for an AP-friendly reparations film viewing event on Sunday, February 18th at 4:30 am (Washington time). 

THE COST OF INHERITANCE, an America ReFramed special, explores the complex issue of reparations in the U.S. using a thoughtful approach to history, historical injustices, systemic inequities, and critical dialogue on racial conciliation. Through personal narratives, community inquiries, and scholarly insights, it aims to inspire understanding of the scope and rationale of the reparations debate.

If you are NOT in the Asia-Pacific region, please RSVP for the Americas- and EMEA-friendly event below:

On Monday, February 19, there will be a second viewing with a Q&A  featuring three important guests featured in the film:

  • Yoruba Richen, the film's director, is an award-winning documentary filmmaker whose work has been featured on multiple outlets, including Netflix, MSNBC, FX, HBO, The Atlantic and Field of Vision. Her recent films are the Emmy-nominated How It Feels to Be Free, which premiered on PBS’ American Masters, and the Peabody- and Emmy-nominated The Sit In: Harry Belafonte Hosts the Tonight Show, which is streaming on Peacock. Her film The New York Times Presents: The Killing of Breonna Taylor won an NAACP Image Award and is streaming on HULU. The Green Book: Guide to Freedom was broadcast on the Smithsonian Channel and was also nominated for an Emmy. Richen is a recipient of Guggenheim and Fulbright fellowships and was awarded the Chicken & Egg Breakthrough Filmmaker.
  • Lotte Lieb Dula: After discovering that she was a descendant of slaveholders Lotte Lieb Dula, retired financial strategist,  founded www.reparations4slavery.com, a portal for white families wishing to walk the path of racial healing through  making reparations. Lotte co-convenes Coming To the Table’s Denver Chapter and is a founding donor of Reparations  Circle Denver. 
  • Briayna Cuffie is a strategist, advocate, and future author based in Annapolis, Maryland. She leverages her political  expertise, teachings from her elders, and history, to help others understand the complexity of Blackness in the United  States. Briayna is involved with Coming To the Table’s Annapolis chapter and is the racial equity advisor for reparations4slavery.com 


All are welcome to attend! Please RSVP to receive the Zoom link. 

Thanks to our co-sponsors: Global Progressive Caucus, Global Black Caucus, DA China

Vancouver, Canada

1:30 a.m. - 3:00 a.m.

Washington, D.C.

4:30 a.m. – 6:00 a.m.

London, UK

9:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

Berlin, Germany

10:30 a.m. - 12:00 noon

Nairobi, Kenya

12:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Mumbai, India

3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Beijing, China

5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.

WHEN

Sunday, February 18, 2024 at 04:30 AM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time

WHERE


This is a virtual event. See the event description above or RSVP for virtual participation options.

CONTACT

Antar Keith
[email protected]

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.

26 RSVPs