Black History Month Marathon

GBC_Black_history_month_banner(1).png

 

We will have 12 hours of Black History Month programming. Listed below are a few of our speakers/activities.  It's going to be a great event. Please RSVP to receive the Zoom link. Please join at any time during the event.

 

Event Start Time by Location

Melbourne, Australia 19:00 AEDT
Tokyo, Japan 17:00 JST
Beijing, China 16:00 CST
Bangkok, Thailand 15:00 ICT
New Delhi, India 13:30 IST
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 12:00 GST
Nairobi, Kenya 11:00 EAT
Athens, Greece 10:00 EET
Frankfurt, Germany 09:00 CET
London, United Kingdom 08:00 GMT
Washington DC, USA 03:00 EST
Vancouver, Canada 00:00 PST

 

Speaker About the Speaker/Segment   Time of Appearance
Lawrence Davis Lawrence Davis is a young French and American actor. He has trained in both countries and performed for the first time in 2013 in a play directed by Phylicia Rashad at the Kennedy Center in Washington. Back in France, he joined La Compagnie des Curiosités, a student theatre company with which he participated in numerous projects as an actor and director. Currently studying in a dance school in Bordeaux, he defends pluridisciplinarity and often incorporates several artistic practices into his work. Today, he will be presenting «NOIRS.» a short film he directed in 2020 based on James Baldwin’s book «The Fire Next Time». 5:00 EST
Dr. Robert Scott  Dr. Scott will inform us about the Wilmington insurrection of 1898.  This was a mass riot and insurrection carried out by white supremacists in Wilmington, North Carolina on Thursday, November 10, 1898. Though the white press in Wilmington originally described the event as a race riot caused by Black people, as more facts were publicized over time, it came to be seen as a coup d'état, the violent overthrow of a duly elected government, by a group of white supremacists.  5:30 EST
Dr. Kenton Barnes  Dr. Kenton Barnes will inform us about the life and work of Ida B. Wells 6:00 EST
Short Film
We'll watch a summary of the documentary SLAVERY BY ANOTHER NAME. This documentary challenges one of Americans' most cherished assumptions: the belief that slavery in this country ended with the Emancipation Proclamation. The film tells how even as chattel slavery came to an end in 1865, thousands of African Americans were pulled back into forced labor with shocking force and brutality. 6:30 EST
Ben Phillips Ben Phillips is the author of How to Fight Inequality. He advises the United Nations, governments, and civil society organizations, and from across the world. He will talk to us about how the battle against inequality has been won before, and he shares a practical plan for defeating inequality again. He sets a route map for us to overcome deference, build our collective power, and create a new story. 7:00 EST
Dr. Deborah Robinson Dr. Deborah Robinson is Assistant Director of the Program for Research on Black Americans for International Projects at the University of Michigan and is Director of #WeGlobal: African Americans Living Abroad Research and Education Project. She'll talk to us about her research and more. 9:00 EST
Dr. Alison M. Parker  Dr. Alison Parker is Chair & Richards Professor of American History at the University of Delaware. She’s focused much of her research and teaching on women’s and gender history, African American history, and legal history. She will talk to us about her book most recent book, Unceasing Militant: The Life of Mary Church Terrel. 10:00 EST
 Jabari Walker and Trenton Zylstra Jabari Walker and Trenton Zylstra created a Youtube channel From Nothing dedicated to educating people about African History.  12:00 EST
Jim Casey Jim Casey is a founding faculty director of the Colored Conventions Project (CCP). The Colored Conventions Project’s groundbreaking work has been widely publicized in national media, including The New York Times, Forbes, and other publications. The project has created a robust digital database of the proceedings and records of the “Colored Conventions,” state and national meetings of free, freed, and self-emancipated Black people, which were held across North America from approximately 1830-1890.
12:30 EST
Carolyn King Carolyn King is one of our Unsung Sheroes. She was one of the first African American students to integrate and graduate from Jones Valley High School in Alabama in 1965. She will be sharing her story with us.  13:00 EST
Abe Jenkins
Abe Jenkins, Jr. is the eldest son of Abraham “Bill” Jenkins and one of the grandsons of the late Esau Jenkins, a prominent community organizer and civil rights leader in South Carolina. He was SC's State Political Director for Pete Buttigieg's 2020 campaign.  13:30 EST
WHEN
February 06, 2021 at 9am - 9pm Berlin Time
WHERE
Zoom-Online
CONTACT
Angela Fobbs ·
332 RSVPS
Carmen Jensen Davies Guy Hepler Jr Jacqueline Swartz Effie Nabhan Laura Castor Wen-Wen Lindroth Ann Rudegeair Adelle Marie Sock Martha McDevitt-Pugh Constance Borde Susan Vaillant Jennifer Rakow-Stepper Dee Kleinberg Patricia Panneton Ethan Friendly Eleana Kouneli Kee Evans Theresa Weinheimer Khary Dickerson Marlis Grosskopf Robyn Emerson Marlow Shute Christina Keating Susan Sara Gail Fagen Kenton Barnes Carol Moore Peter Gillespie Bryan Murphy Jay Brown Mimi Kang tony maciejowski Brendan McMorrow Reyna DeLogé Michael Greenberg Robert Scott Melissa Wiedmann Beth Thyr William Austin Dash Nesbitt Sydney Levine Melissa Palermo John Henry "Jay" Clifton, Jr. Heather Stone Lauren Hakulinen Anne Jany Joanne Pinkess Titus Machava

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?