Earth Day 50th Anniversary Marathon

 

Earth Day is every day, and anywhere you are. On APRIL 22, EARTH DAY GOES DIGITAL.

Democrats Abroad Caucuses will stream on Zoom and Facebook Live a 16-hour program to Celebrate the 50th Anniversary of Earth Day.

 The importance of this anniversary cannot be understated. On Earth Day, April 22, 2020, we have two crises: One is the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic. The other is a slowly building disaster for our climate.

The coronavirus pandemic does not shut us down. Instead, it reminds us of what’s at stake in our fight for the planet. If we don’t demand change to transform our planet and meet our climate crisis, our current state will become the new normal — a world where pandemics and extreme weather events span the globe, leaving already marginalized and vulnerable communities even more at risk. 

Join us throughout the day. We'll have a variety of guests and speakers.

Our event starts at:

Location Local Start Time
Melbourne, Australia 16:00
Japan Standard Time 15:00
Beijing, China 14:00
Bangkok, Thailand 13:00
New Delhi, India 11:30
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 10:00
Jerusalem/Nairobi/Athens 9:00
Paris, France 8:00
London, United Kingdom 7:00
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 3:00
Washington DC, USA 2:00
Vancouver, Canada (Tuesday) 23:00

 

Here are some of the program highlights:

 

Starting at 5 am Eastern time, DA member Naomi Ages will give a presentation about the Green New Deal. After her presentation, there will be a Q&A.

Naomi was a senior political strategist with Greenpeace International. She advised a portfolio of projects on protecting democracy, international trade, and corporate accountability. She previously worked as a senior climate and energy campaigner at Greenpeace USA, leading work on achieving climate justice, and on domestic and international climate politics.

rollbacks.jpg At 9 am Eastern Time, we will screen the short documentary "ROLLBACKS: An Assault Against Life on Earth." The film is a sobering but hopeful wake-up call and a call to action. The impact of climate change - drought, intense tropical storms, wildfires, heatwaves, and sea-level rise - is undeniable, catastrophic, and happening now. The Trump administration has met this crisis by systematically and efficiently enacting an alarming number of regulatory rollbacks, reversing past policy progress, and putting our very existence at risk.
After the screening, we'll have a discussion and Q&A with the producers of the film.
Christiana_Figueres.jpeg Christiana Figueres will join us at 11 am Eastern Time. Ms. Figueres is an internationally recognized leader in global climate change. She was Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) 2010-2016. Assuming responsibility for the international climate change negotiations after the failed Copenhagen conference of 2009, she was determined to lead the process to a universally agreed regulatory framework. Building toward that goal, she directed the successful Conferences of the Parties in Cancun 2010, Durban 2011, Doha 2012, Warsaw 2013, and Lima 2014, and culminated her efforts in the historical Paris Agreement of 2015. Throughout her tenure, Ms. Figueres brought together national and sub-national governments, corporations and activists, financial institutions and communities of faith, think tanks and technology providers, NGOs and parliamentarians, to jointly deliver the unprecedented climate change agreement. For this achievement, Ms. Figueres has been credited with forging a new brand of collaborative diplomacy.
Dr. Marc A. Weiss, Chairman, and CEO, Global Urban Development (GUD) will join us at 12 pm Eastern Time.
Dr. Weiss is Chairman and CEO of Global Urban Development (GUD) an international policy organization and professional network of 700 leaders and experts in 60 countries. He serves as a Lead Partner and Steering Committee member of UN-Habitat’s World Urban Campaign, and as a member of the Board of Directors of IHC Global. Currently, he coordinates the Porto Alegre Sustainable Innovation Zone (ZISPOA), a key initiative of GUD’s World Bank-funded Leapfrog Economic Strategy for Brazil’s State of Rio Grande do Sul to become the most sustainable and innovative place in Latin America by 2030. He is an International Visiting Professor in the Post-Graduate Program in Urban and Regional Planning (PROPUR) at the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS) in Porto Alegre, where he also serves as Coordinator of the ZISPOA Project in the School of Engineering, and as Vice Coordinator of the Center for Studies and Research in Urban Economics (NEPEU) in the Faculty of Economic Sciences.

See the complete schedule of events here.

Please RSVP to receive the link to the Zoom conference.

WHEN
April 22, 2020 at 8am - April 23, 2020 at 12am Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Online/Zoom/FB Live
CONTACT
Angela Fobbs ·
512 RSVPS
Susanna Rivero Mary Ridinger amelie ranol wendy littlefield Mike Reyna Ilda Melo James Callaghan Martha Hogan Jeffrey Thomas Octavio Santos Terrie Tucker Bernardo Javalquinto Carin Elam Mary Sobiechowski Elizabeth Kelly Kirby Fullerton Khadija Alia Bah Bruce Murray Joanna Mikulski Susan Penrod Maya Buchanan Stephanie Cunningham Laura Mosedale Victoria Al-Din Alessandro Marra Mary Jo Jennings Carmen Pang Carol Moore Becky Naidis Melissa Lawrence Larry Loeppke Ben Dietz Anne Jany Jerry Luper Laurie Whiteside Nicola Hackworth Marlow Shute Anna Lau Naveen Thomas Robin Carney Katie Solon Ron Starker jonah kaplan Roy Dudley Kathleen Schomp Sage Borgmastars Stephanie Stewart Leslie Prosy

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?