BHM - GBC Café

1_ywyfo86cMBx0aLnSK70wCg.jpeg

The GBC Cafe is our version of a Socrates Cafe. The Socratic Café is a democratic discussion forum based on the more commonly known Socratic Method, which focuses its intentions on being an open system that allows for philosophical questioning.

An unofficial mantra describing both is that we (people) learn more when we question, and question with others.

According to the inventor Christopher Phillips, the Socratic Cafes were developed in response to the ineffectual way Americans go about discussions—talking over each other and not listening—which has "taken a toll on our society". One of the points of his decision to start up Socrates Cafés was to create an environment where the question is almost more important than the answer. Socrates Cafés are open to anyone who is looking for answers and is curious about Phillips’ philosophy that "what you say and think and generally do matters and counts... it is vital and incumbent for you to take an important role in society during your mortal moment."

 

We will be discussing the important issues of our time. This will be the first of a series of GBC Cafes. We hope you will join the discussion and let you know what you think.

 

RSVP for the connection information.

 

Location Local Time
Washington DC 9:00 EST
London 14:00 BST
Paris 15:00 CET
Nairobi 17:00 EAT
WHEN
February 16, 2020 at 9am - 12pm
WHERE
Online
CONTACT
Angela Fobbs ·
19 RSVPS
Christina Skovsgaard Cuthbert Telesford Willem Bakker Judy Blish Karen Lee Robin Lofton Kathryn Solon Lynn Keeys Robert Kelley Stacey Graham

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

BC