Books Abroad Reads What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About

 

Books Abroad reads What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence

An Essay Collection Edited by Michele Filgate

 

The Global Women’s Caucus feminist reading group Books Abroad warmly invites you to celebrate Mother’s Day with us a little differently this year. At our next meeting on Sunday, May 10, 2020, our discussion will focus on acknowledging and respecting a broad variety of experiences with mothers and/or with motherhood. Often and especially around Mother’s Day, we are inundated with messages ripe with sunny, unrealistic expectations for mothers and the mother-child relationship. Our reading for this meeting, What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence, is a collection of essays edited by Michele Filgate that explores a wide spectrum of relationships and challenges us to push the motherhood ideal off its pedestal and see mothers for what they are - human.

 

In her review of the anthology on NPR, writer Danielle Kurtzleben explains, “At its broadest level, this book is about the soul-rattling realization that despite often having the astronomically best of intentions, our mothers still mess up — sometimes in life-altering ways. It's about how, despite our love or a desperate need for them, we mess things up too. And it's also about the gut punch that happens when some children are forced to legitimately wonder just how good their mothers' intentions ever were. But then, it's about how much more livable those relationships might be if someone just said those three magical words. Those words are not ‘I love you’ but, rather, ‘Are you OK?’ Or, even more difficult: ‘Hey — I'm hurting.’”

On Mother’s Day 2020, we hope you’ll join us in processing this work together, and, if you feel comfortable doing so, please invite your mothers/children to read and discuss with us. We look forward to exchanging thoughts with you soon!

 

This is an online event, so you must RSVP to receive the link to join.

Event start time by time zone:

Location
  Event Start Local Time
Vancouver, Canada  Pacific Daylight Time 5:30 am
Washington DC   Eastern Daylight Time 8:30 am
London, UK GMT 1:30 pm
Paris, France  Central European Time 2:30 pm
Nairobi, Kenya  (GMT+3) 3:30 pm
Dubai GST 4:30 pm
Bangkok ICT 7:30 pm
Beijing CST 8:30 pm
Tokyo JST 9:30 pm
Melbourne AEDT 10:30 pm

 

 

WHEN
May 10, 2020 at 2:30pm - 5:30pm
WHERE
Online Zoom
CONTACT
Kelsey McLendon ·
45 RSVPS
Kirsten McLendon Dede Williams Anna Jeretic Helen Li Teresa Ritterhoff Katy Masuga Geraldine Borde Judy Ducray Gail Fagen Sally Williams-Allen Meredith Wheeler Susan Vaillant katherine converse Hilary Kaiser Katie Solon Diane Haven Victoria Kennedy Erin Cummings Caryl Hallberg Jeanette Marr Sara Faherty Rebecca Lammers Sheila Malovany-Chevallier Marjorie Oberman Danette Landry Linda Quinet Stephanie Lenogue Marjorie Bernstein Kelsey McLendon Carol Rose Theodosia Kummerfeld kimberley healey Natalya Lozovaya salli swartz Imaan Patel Connie Borde Angela Fobbs

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

WC BC