DemsAbroad Action Items for Tax Reform Activists on 15 June - International Tax Filing Day

Tax reform will happen when enough Americans abroad reach out to their members of Congress and demand it  that’s why we’re asking for your help.  We’ve prepared three tax action items for the coming week, as well as an advocacy guide, to make sure that our voices are heard back home. 

1. How-To Session: Writing a Letter to the Editor about Tax Reform — June 13, 9:00am Eastern

One of the ways we can best put pressure on Congress to take urgent action to pass Residency Based Taxation is to get their attention in your hometown.

Join us on Sunday, June 13 at 9:00am Eastern / 3:00pm Central Europe / 9:00pm China for a webinar to learn how you can write an effective letter to the editor of your hometown newspaper.

Click here for more information and to RSVP

A recording of the workshop will be published on the taxation section of DA’s website.


2. International Filing Day Congressional Call Storm — June 15, Anytime

Congress does not hear from enough of us who are irate about the way Americans overseas are treated under the U.S. tax code, so they fail to act. You can help change that.

Please pick up the phone on June 15, call your Members of Congress, and let them know it’s time for fair tax policy for Americans overseas.

New to calling? No problem. All the information you need is in this campaign guide, including:

  • How to establish who are your Members of Congress
  • How to contact them
  • Scripts for what to say in your phone call
  • Language to put into written communication - digital or old school

Click on this link to let us know you are participating!


3. How-To Session: How to Write to Congress about Tax Reform — June 16, 1:00pm Eastern

On Wednesday, June 16 at 1:00pm Eastern / 7:00pm Central Europe / 1:00am China, DA United Kingdom is hosting a webinar about writing to Congress about tax reform. They’ll discuss why you should be contacting your Members of Congress, how to figure out who your Members of Congress are, and what to say to them. They’ll also review template emails and phone scripts, and cover why adding your own personal touch makes a big difference.

Click here for more information and to RSVP

A recording of the workshop will be published on the taxation section of DA’s website.

 

Questions? Contact us at any time at: [email protected]