DACA and the Election

DACA_n_the_Elections_v2.png

Join the AAPI and Hispanic Caucuses for a discussion on the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and what is at stake in the upcoming election. We will be joined by current and past DACA recipients, as well as organizers from immigrant-led organizations.

On June 18, 2020, the Supreme Court blocked the Trump administration’s efforts to cancel the DACA program — an Obama-era program giving protection from deportation to some undocumented immigrants brought to the U.S. as children. The program’s approximately 800,000 recipients are allowed to stay and get a work permit. Trump has made clear his intention to cancel the program, while Vice President Biden is committed to keeping it. In Biden’s immigration plan, he pledges to provide a roadmap to citizenship for the nearly 11 million undocumented immigrants. Needless to say, the upcoming election will be crucial for DACA recipients and immigration reform.

At this event our speakers, DACA recipients and organizers from immigrant-led organizations, will:

  • Provide an overview of the DACA program
  • Stress what we can do as Americans overseas to support DACA recipients
  • Explain why this election is critical for immigration reform.

Speakers

  • Debbie E. Alarcón, International Relations Student at Tokyo University
  • Monsy Hernández, Immigrant Rights Activist from South Carolina, now in Germany
  • Carlos León, Community Coalition Organizer
  • Hye Young, Graduate student at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and member of ASPIRE

When?

October 20, 2020 at

1pm EDT (NYC/DC)
7pm Berlin
6pm London 
12pm Ciudad de México

Please RSVP to receive the link.

WHEN
October 20, 2020 at 7pm - 8pm Paris Time
WHERE
ZOOM - ONLINE EVENT
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Global AAPI Caucus, Global Hispanic Caucus ·
43 RSVPS
Monsy Hernandez Ari Milner Justin B Cynthia Romero Anne Harrington Cliff Stuehmer Deandra Anderson Amerika Garcia Grewal Juan Cerda Jeffrey Adams Emily Lines Marc Weiss Ann Owen Carolina Gattaz Brigit Carroll Pauline Manos Cate Czerwinski Catherine Bruce Ann Hesse Lissette Wright Pierre Filatov Edgar Lopez-Vallejo Mari Rutka Denise Roig Kee Evans Martha McDevitt-Pugh Vincienzo Cabrera Jessica Craig Barbara Chap Willem Bakker Judith Fox Susan Fitoussi James Mercereau Kathryn Solon Onelica Andrade

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?