Ethelene Whitmire lecture about African Americans in Denmark

thumbnail_profile.jpg

Join the Democrats Abroad Denmark Black Caucus Chapter for Ethelene Whitmire's lecture about her current research project entitled "In the Pursuit of Happiness: African Americans in Denmark" on video followed by her live Q&A. She has studied the lives of musicians, artists, and writers that have lived in Denmark, as well as famous visitors like Booker T. Washington. Ethelene does research at libraries and archives in Copenhagen, visits historical sites and museums, and talks to residents in Denmark.

 

About the Speaker

Ethelene Whitmire is a professor and the chair of the Department of Afro-American Studies at the University of Wisconsin – Madison. She is a former American-Scandinavian Foundation Fellow, a Fulbright scholar at the University of Copenhagen, and a recipient of grants from the Lois Roth Endowment and Scan Design for research related to her current research project, African Americans in 20th Century Denmark. She is the author of Regina Anderson Andrews, Harlem Renaissance Librarian.

 

Event Start Time by Location

Madison, WI, USA Tue, 9 Mar 2021 12:00 CST
Washington DC, USA  Tue, 9 Mar 2021 13:00 EST
London, UK Tue, 9 Mar 2021 18:00 GMT
Copenhagen, Denmark Tue, 9 Mar 2021 19:00 CET
Athens, Greece Tue, 9 Mar 2021 20:00 CET
Beijing, China Wed, 10 Mar 2021 02:00 CST
Fiji Wed, 10 Mar 2021 06:00 FJT

RSVP to receive the Zoom link.

WHEN
March 09, 2021 at 7pm - 9pm Copenhagen Time
WHERE
Online using Zoom - please RSVP to receive the link
CONTACT
Amelia Hoy ·
23 RSVPS
Christina Skovsgaard Tarrence Moore Susan Fitoussi Dan Smith Paul Hickman Sharon Miller Faith Coprland Disa Fink Mary Stewart Burgher Laura LaCava Francesca l Terrell Chesney McKinley Severance Roslyn Jensen Jeannetta Craigwell-Graham Kimberly Chopin James Chizungu Cuthbert Telesford

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

DK BC