Democrats Win at All Levels in November 2017 Elections


Many thanks to everyone who work on getting out the vote and everyone who voted. The election was a great success. Election night brought historic wins for minority and LGBT candidates.

  • Vi Lyles became the first black woman to be elected mayor of Charlotte.
  • Melvin Carter III was elected St. Paul's first mayor of color.
  • Zachary DeWolf became Seattle's first openly gay school board member.
  • Kathy Tran became the first Asian-American woman to be elected to the Virginia House of Delegates.
  •  Jenny Durkan is projected to win the mayoral race, which would make her the first lesbian mayor in Seattle.
  • Ravinder Bhalla, who became the first Sikh mayor to be elected in the state of New Jersey.
  • Andrea Jenkins, the first openly transgender person of color elected to public office won a seat in the Minneapolis City Council. 

On the whole Democrats had a great night. Here are more of the results:


Ralph Northam is the governor-elect, Justin Fairfax is lieutenant governor-elect, and Mark Herring was re-elected attorney general.

Democrats flipped at least 14* House of Delegate seats including:

  • Jennifer Carroll Foy (HD-02)
  • Wendy Goodits (HD-10)
  • Chris Hurst (HD-12)
  • Danica Roem (HD-13)
  • Kelly Fowler (HD-21)
  • Elizabeth Guzman (HD-31)
  • David Reid (HD-32)
  • Kathy Tran (HD-42)
  • Lee Carter (HD-50)
  • Hala Ayala (HD-51)
  • Karrie Delaney (HD-67)
  • Dawn Adams (HD-68)
  • Schuyler VanValkenberg (HD-72)
  • Deborah Rodman (HD-73)

* No party has picked up more than 7 seats in a single House of Delegates election since 2001.

New Jersey: Democrats flipped the governor’s seat from red to blue by electing Phil Murphy and Sheila Oliver. Vin Gopal flipped New Jersey’s 11th Senate District from red to blue. New Jersey became the 7th state in the US where Democrats control both legislative and executive branches.

North Carolina: Democrats flipped 2 mayoral seats by electing Vi Lyles in Charlotte and Mitch Colvin in Fayetteville. Vi Lyles is the first-ever African American woman to be elected mayor of Charlotte, while Mitch used his strong ties to the community to flip the Fayetteville mayoral seat from red to blue.

New Hampshire: Democrats flipped the Manchester mayoral seat by electing Joyce Craig. Joyce is the first woman to ever serve as mayor of Manchester. Democrats flipped one seat in the New Hampshire House of Representatives by electing Erika Connors to the Hillsborough County District 15 and held the Sullivan County District 1 by electing Brian Sullivan. In total, Democrats have now flipped six seats in New Hampshire from red to blue in 2017.

Florida: Democrats re-elected Mayor Rick Kriseman to be the mayor of St. Petersburg.

Massachusetts: Democrats re-elected Boston Mayor Marty Walsh.

New York: Democrats re-elected New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio.

Georgia: Democrats flipped two House districts by electing Deborah Gonzalez (HD-117) and Jonathan Wallace (HD-119).

Michigan: Democrats held Michigan’s 109th House District by electing Sara Cambensy.

Washington: Manka Dhingra's resounding victory in the Washington 45th state senate race successfully flipped control of the Washington State Senate to the Democrats.

Remember there are still two more elections this year.

This is the last day to request a ballot if you vote in Oklahoma! #VotingMatters. All overseas voters can vote in Oklahoma State Elections. On November 14th, Oklahoma will vote for new representatives in State Senate District 37 (Tulsa area), State Senate District 45 (Oklahoma City area), State House District 76 (Broken Arrow and Tulsa areas).

Let's flip these three seats by sending Allison Ikley-Freeman, Steven Vincent and Chris VanLandingham to the Oklahoma State House and Senate. Request your ballot by EMAIL, FAX or MAIL by Wednesday, November 8 at 5pm (Oklahoma time). Complete the form at When you get your ballot, MAIL or FAX it back right away. It must get to Oklahoma by Tuesday, November 14 at 7pm (Oklahoma time).

The Alabama — U.S. Senate special election on December 12. This is the seat vacated by the resignation of Jeff Sessions (R) when he was confirmed as Attorney General.  You can still register to vote by mail until  27 November 2017. Request your ballots by 7 December 2017. Return your ballot postmarked NLT 12 December 2017 and received by 19 December 2017, 12 noon CDT. Request your ballots now!