Sunday, January 15

Zoom

January 2023 Climate Café - Screening 2

Jan_Climate_Cafe_second_showing.png

Grab some popcorn and join us for the celebrated documentary YOUTH v GOV, which details the journey of 21 American youth plaintiffs as they bring suit against the U.S. government for failing to act on climate change.

 

About the Film:

YOUTH v GOV is the story of the Juliana v. The United States of America constitutional lawsuit and the 21 American youth, ages 14 to 25, who are taking on the world’s most powerful government. Since 2015, the legal non-profit Our Children’s Trust has been representing these youth in their landmark case against the U.S. government for violating their constitutional rights to life, liberty, personal safety, and property through their willful actions in creating the climate crisis they will inherit. 

As leaders in the youth climate movement, the twenty-one plaintiffs of Juliana v. The United States of America represent the diversity of American youth impacted by the climate crisis. They hail from 10 states: Florida, Alaska, Hawaii, Colorado, Oregon, Washington, Pennsylvania, Arizona, Louisiana, and New York. These film characters encompass cultural, economic, and geographic diversity, and many come from marginalized communities, serving as beacons of hope for those who do not have a platform to share their own stories. They are African-American, Indigenous, white, bi-racial, and LGBTQ. Their diversity speaks not only to the impacts of climate change but to the inclusion required if we build a better and more just future together. These young people are activists, students, artists, musicians, and farmers; their stories are universal.

 

RSVP to receive the Zoom link.

Location Start Time
Vancouver, Canada           08:00 PST
San Jose, Costa Rica        10:00 CST
Washington DC, USA          11:00 EST
London, United Kingdom      16:00 GMT
Frankfurt, Germany          17:00 CET
Athens, Greece              18:00 EET
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 20:00 GST
New Delhi, India            21:30 IST

 

Watch the trailer

 

WHEN

Sunday, January 15, 2023 at 11:00 AM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time

CONTACT

Dana Freling
[email protected]

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.
If you are already a member of Democrats Abroad, please enter your name and email address that you have on your membership record.

12 RSVPs