A Discussion on Citizenship Stripping

YOU ARE NOT AMERICAN: A Discussion on Citizenship Stripping

Learn all about the 14th Amendment and the legal ins-and-outs of US citizenship in this important discussion co-sponsored by the Global Women’s Caucus, the DA France Women’s Caucus and the DA France Diversity Caucus

When: May 4th at 1:00 pm Eastern/7:00 pm CET

Where: Zoom call (RSVP below for the link)

What if…

  • you applied to vote and were told “no” just because your spouse was a foreigner?
  • you came back from visiting family members overseas and were refused re-entry to the US, despite having been born on American soil?
  • your US passport renewal was denied because you were born at home, not in a hospital?
  • you were under investigation by the Dept. of Justice, simply because you were born near the US-Mexican border?
  • US Immigration demanded documented proof of your US citizenship, what do you possess that can accurately prove this?

Most Americans firmly believe in the promise of birthright citizenship, as enshrined in the US Constitution’s 14th Amendment. However, all of the above situations resulted in exclusion and, in some cases, even deportation.

The loss of citizenship over the past two centuries has been reflected in many of the United States’ most gripping political struggles and much has been directed against women and minorities—over slavery, women’s suffrage, communism, immigration and world wars.

Our honored guest speaker is Amanda Frost*, Professor of Law & Government, who will be discussing her book, “You Are Not American: Citizenship Stripping from Dred Scott to the Dreamers”. Questions are welcomed!

Her book can be purchased on amazon.fr (hardback or Kindle) or ordered locally (check your local booksellers).

Please RSVP below to obtain the link to the Zoom meeting.

Time zone conversion chart:

Location
 
Local Time
Vancouver, Canada 
PDT
10 am
Washington DC  
EDT
1 pm
London, UK
BST
6 pm
Paris, France 
CET
7 pm
Nairobi, Kenya 
(GMT+3)
9 pm
WHEN
May 04, 2021 at 7pm - 8pm Madrid Time
WHERE
ZOOM - RSVP for link
CONTACT
Stayce Camparo
76 RSVPS
Tania Oerb Shari Ritter Sharon Ann Ligons Ron Rowell Joan Skelton Smith Pierre Filatov Chantal Mistral Marcia Henry Daphne Katranides Laurie Whiteside Shelley Anderson Colleen Allen-Funk Josephine Lowrey Arif Hamid Catherine Coolidge Cindy Bjoelgerud Saraswathy Ganapathy Charla Devereux Carol Moore Diane Wigger Judy Ducray Carole Crawford Roselyn Sands Penny Schantz Tanya Dohoney Jane MacDonald Pamela Combastet Sheila Malovany-Chevallier Marjorie Bernstein Axel Krause Karen Wildau Karen Levorson Laughlin Gina Granelli Jerry Zellhoefer Fred Hoffman Jim Christiansen Meredith Wheeler Susan Fitoussi Catie Brand Eva Moynihan Danielle Follett Lissette Wright Diane Sklar Veronica Pollard Heather Stone Salli Swartz Gretchen Pascalis marnie delaney

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?