Global Virtual Pride Marathon 2021

Join Democrats Abroad's LGTBQ+ Caucus for a day long Pride Celebration as we share our stories. View the schedule here (or below).

Pride 2021: Sharing Our Stories / Equality Matters

Democrats Abroad is celebrating June Pride month with a series of events, including a webinar marathon on June 20th, featuring speakers and events. 

The webinar marathon is being organized and hosted by the DA LGBTQ+ Caucus, with the aim to educate Americans about issues impacting LGBTQ+ people and opportunities to provide greater protection through policy and legislation. A key focus will be on engaging members to share their stories. 

Through the webinar, members will have the opportunity to learn how to effectively engage their congressional representatives to support equality legislation, including the Equality Act, which would provide protections in employment, housing, credit, education, public spaces and services, federally funded programs and jury service to LGBTQ+ people, and immigration reform.

Program

Time Title Speakers

05.30 - 06:00 AM EDT (Washington DC)
11.30 - 12:00 CET (Amsterdam)

16:30 ICT (Bangkok, Thailand)
19:30 AEST (Sydney, Australia)

Let's talk about AAPI queer identity through a  discussion of Alice Wu's film The Half of It! A Netflix original movie, The Half of It received rave reviews from critics and tells the story of teenage Ellie Chu, who writes letters to her crush on the behalf of her classmate Paul in a queer retelling of Cyrano de Bergerac. As Paul and Ellie's friendship grows, the film explores the isolation of the intersection of queer and immigrant identity as well as the meaning of friendship.

 

Anya Leonhard

06:15 - 07:15 AM EDT
12:15 - 13:15  CET 

17:15 ICT
20:15 AEST

Supporting transgender youth

Join DAUK LGBT Caucus as we host a discussion on trans youth healthcare policy with Mermaids UK Legal and Policy director Lui Asquith (they/them)! We will discuss how gender affirming healthcare can greatly improve the lives of trans and non binary children and teens, as well as the policies that threaten to to take these treatments away. Following the presentation, Lui Asquith will be responding to preprepared questions in a Q & A!

 

Mermaids UK is Non-Profit working to support transgender, non binary and gender diverse children, young people and their families since 1995. Their support helps transgender youth and their families advocate for themselves with healthcare and education services, as well as helping trans youth to cope with mental and emotional distress, improve self esteem and learn social skills. They also regularly work with teachers, GP’s and social services to improve awareness, understanding, and policies with regard to trans youth.

Mermaids, UK

With Brian Westley and Caroline Ruchonnet, DAUK

07:00 - 07:15 AM EDT
13.00 - 13.15 CET

18:00 ICT
21:00 AEST

Welcome to:  Pride Marathon  Sharing Our Stories   

Kicking off the day long event by: 

Co-Chair Martha McDevitt-Pugh

07:30 - 08:45 AM EDT (Washington DC)
13.30-14.45 CET (Amsterdam)

18:30 ICT (Bangkok, Thailand)
21:30 AEST  (Sydney, Australia)

Between two stigmas: the intersection of being LGBTQ+ and an immigrant

 

Co-sponsored by DA Hispanic Caucus

 

Moderator: Juan Cerda

 

Panel: Departed Dreamers Tawheeda Wahabzada, Jason and Monsy; DACA applicant Yari; Nicole Salgado author of Amor & Exile; Randall Emery of American Families United; Immigration lawyer and former DemsAbroad DNC Representative Bob Bragar

 

Invited: Jose Antonio Vargas of Define American

08:45 - 09:00 AM EDT
14:45-15:00 CET

19:45 ICT
22:45 AEST

Short films (at various points during the day)  

09.05 - 09:20 AM EDT
15.05 - 15:20 CET
 

20:05 ICT
23:05 AEST

True Colors

Orlando Gay Chorus, at a vigil after the Pulse Nightclub shooting

Richard Lamberty  

06:30 AM PDT (Vancouver, Canada)

09.30 -  10:30 AM  EDT  (Washington DC)
15:30 - 16:30  CET (Amsterdam)

20:30 ICT (Bangkok, Thailand)

State legislation landscape and the Equality Act

Moderator: journalist Fred Kuhr, DA Canada

State equality organizations:

-Nadine Smith, Equality Florida

 

Shawn Gaylord, Executive Director, Congressional LGBTQ+ Equality Caucus

 

Earl Fowlkes, Chari DNC LGBT Caucus

07:30 PDT

10:30 - 10:55 AM EDT
16:30-16:55 CET

21:30 ICT

Making change: how to share your story with Congress. How to make an impact with legislators. For LGBTQ+ members and allies

Brian Westley, DAUK LGBTQ+ caucus

Video from Stephanie Randall

08:00 AM PDT

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM EDT
17:00-18:30 CET

22:00 ICT

Films that changed history: Edie & Thea

Documentary filmmaker Susan Muska (Edie & Thea: A Very Long Engagement; The Brandon Teena Story). Susan will be introduced by Lisa Berger, a documentary filmmaker and researcher and member of DA Spain.

10:00 AM PDT (Vancouver, Canada)

1:00 -2:00 PM EDT  (Washington DC)
19:00-20:00 CET (Amsterdam)

Family Friendly: Drag Story time for kids.  Fay Slift + Fluffy Soufflé

11:00 AM PDT

2:00 - 2:30 PM EDT
20.00-20.30 CET

Queer as Verse : Poetry Competition

Poets:

Diane Haven:  “The Rainbows” and “It is Raining”

Scott Chase: “The Other”

Britt Farbo The New Reconstruction:

“A Canticle forSt.Hogates in theTime of Hope & Optimism”

“Stoop of the Peterson” and “Jubillee”

Hosted by:

Betsy Ettore

Diana Haven

Scott Chase

Britt Farbo



11:30 AM PDT

2:30 - 3:30 PM EDT
20:30-21:30 CET

Spoken word performance

Syd

Robin Kaur Sidhu

07:30 NZT (New Zealand)
12:30 PM PDT (Vancouver, Canada)

3:30 - 4:00 PM EDT (Washington DC)
21:30-22:00 CET (Amsterdam)

The power of our stories

Amos Lim, Community Advocate, Economic Justice Program, Chinese for Affirmative Action (San Francisco), co-founder, Out for Immigration.

Shirley Tan and Jay Mercado, their sons Jashley and Joriene Mercado, on their family’s journey, Shirley’s experience from asylum seeker to her testimony at the Senate Judiciary Committee on same-sex immigration

 

Pending - speakers on legislation

HR 2920 - American Families United Act (Randall and Edgar)

S. 348 - U.S. Citizenship Act of 2021

HR 6 - American Dream and Promise Act of 2021

 

Martha McDevitt Pugh

Moderator

08:15 NZT 
1:15 PM PDT 

4:15 - 4:30 PM EDT
22.15 - 22.30

Poly Andrew Ticktock Pictures https://youtu.be/MK3bOEevaSA. Andrew and Trevor are a happy gay couple, until Andrew's secret girlfriend - who also happens to be Trevor's best friend - shows up, and Andrew is forced to come to terms with his sexual identity.

Fred Kurh

08:30 NZT 
1:30 PM PDT 

4:30 - 5:40 PM EDT
22.30 - 23.40 CET

The aging LGTBQ+: Screening of Gen Silent

 

Gen Silent is an award-winning documentary that follows six LGBT older adults in Boston, Massachusetts over a year as they navigate the paid and unpaid care system. Gen Silent discovers how oppression in the years before Stonewall still affects generations of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people with feelings of distrust and dangerous isolation. As we witness the challenges that

these men and women face, we also see hope as each subject crosses paths with an impassioned professional trying in their own way to change an entire care industry.

 

 

Hosted by Shari Ritter, RN

Case Manager Healthcare Agencies

 

09:40 NZT (New Zealand)
2:40 PM PDT (Vancouver, Canada)

5:40 - 5:56 PM EDT (Washington DC)
23.40-23.56 CET (Amsterdam)

Closing Remarks

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WHEN
June 20, 2021 at 5:30am - 5:30pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom
86 RSVPS
Inge Kjemtrup David Schellenberg Marjorie Bernstein Adrienne Johnson Bill Barnard Brett McHargue Marsha Hagney Leedonal Moore David D'Alessandro Emily Raskin Perey Christina Skovsgaard Pierre Filatov Angel Hudgins Hitomi Hirano Amy Fuller Aaron Kruse Irene Chriss Yarineth Peña Vargas Dan Smith B.C. Farbo marnie delaney John Lindsay Jade Poteat Noa Fay Amelia Lumpkin Austin Allaire William Prescott Julian Becker Brian Westley Fred Kuhr aleem young Mimi Kang Leah Jewett Juan Cerda Maxwell Ng Tre' Shawn Griffin-Noordermeer Fred Hoffman Clove Haviva patricia navarro Daniel James Luke Kay Sharon Ann Ligons Carl Landon Taylor Steve Nardi Nicole Salgado Cory Lemke Steven Miller Shelley Anderson

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?