In Conversation with Shuli de la Fuente-Lau, Founder of @AsianLitForKids

“In some ways, our libraries or what we read hopefully reflect a world we wish we saw - maybe a world beyond what we are in right now.” - Shuli de la Fuente-Lau, founder of @AsianLitForKids.

Shuli de la Fuente-Lau of @AsianLitForKids sits down virtually with Angela Chen from Democrats Abroad Lion City to discuss the intersection of children’s books, racial identity, and the anti-racism journey.

The concepts of “race,” “acceptance,” and “other” take seed at a young age. Come learn about how the current progress in “diverse” kids’ book publishing is important in shaping today’s children, why Representation must be paired with Conversation, and which new children’s books you should be adding to your cart right now (also listed below).

Join us for the premiere of the interview as we end Asian Pacific American Heritage Month. RSVP to receive the YouTube link to the premiere!

 

Seoul, South Korea 8pm
Singapore, Singapore 7pm
New Delhi, India 4:30pm
Berlin, Germany 1pm
Washington, D.C. 7am

About

@AsianLitForKids is an Instagram account (or “Bookstagram”) which recommends and reviews children’s books featuring Asian and other BIPOC characters, as well as advocates diversity and intersectionality in children’s book consumption and publishing.  

Shuli de la Fuente-Lau is the creator of the Instagram @AsianLitforKids, and the Content Lead at LittleFeminist.com – a monthly book club subscription and publishing house. By day, she is an assistant principal at an elementary school.

Shuli is proudly a third-culture kid who holds her Chinese Malaysian American identity with gratitude. Much of her perspective she attributes to her ability to stand in multiple places and to wrestle with what home and belonging means.

Shuli lives in Oakland, California with her husband and two strong, spirited, and vibrant daughters.

 

Recent Releases Recommended by @AsianLitForKids:

 

Further Resources (mentioned in interview):

WHEN
May 31, 2021 at 8pm - 9pm Seoul Time
WHERE
YouTube
Seoul
South Korea
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Democrats Abroad Asian American & Pacific Islander Caucus ·
5 RSVPS
Sharon Ann Ligons Cory Lemke Angela Chen Emily Lines

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?