Juneteenth Celebration/Happy Hour

What is Juneteenth (Youtube Link)

Juneteenth, also known as Juneteenth Independence Day or Freedom Day, is an American holiday that commemorates June 19, 1865, announcement of the abolition of slavery in Texas, and more generally the emancipation of enslaved African Americans throughout the former Confederate States of America. It is the oldest known celebration commemorating the end of slavery in the United States and this year is the 155th anniversary. 

2020 has not turned out how anyone imagined. Juneteenth is an opportunity to celebrate our freedom. Join us with your beverage of choice and a snack on Zoom for fun and games.

 

Special Guests: George Finley and Chris Finley.

 

George Finley Bio: Chris Finley Bio:

WhatsApp_Image_2020-06-18_at_18.40.40.jpeg

Chris Finley is a high school physics and mathematics teacher at Edison High School. He graduated from Cal Poly in 1993 with a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering. He had many interests and engineering just happened to be his fall back. While at Cal Poly, he was a member of the Society of Black Engineers and Scientists and a member of the Associate Student Body Speakers Forum. He attributes his involvement in these two organizations as the catalyst for becoming an advocate for diversity in education. He participated in discussions with Warren Baker, past Cal Poly President and student rallies directed at the academic senate, with the goal of bringing ethnic studies to Cal Poly. Upon graduation Chris, was hired as the first MESA (Mathematics Engineering Science Achievement) Director at COS (College of the Sequoias). As director he was responsible for running the tutorial center and providing academic counseling for underrepresented students pursuing degrees in math, science, and engineering. While working at COS he decided to enter the field of teaching. He felt that he would have a bigger impact in the classroom. He has taught all levels of mathematics, as well as drafting, mechanical drawing, architecture, Computer-Aided Drafting, and Restorative Justice, which focusses on building community within the school. He has been a keynote speaker for Cal Poly’s Summer Bridge program as well as a presenter at various high school conferences. He is currently the secretary of the Fresno Teachers Associate and a State Delegate for California Teachers Association. He is on the Board for Food Commons a non-profit organization dedicated to bringing healthy food to low-income areas of Fresno. He is the proud father of two children.

 

 

Please RSVP to receive the link for the Zoom Meeting.

 

Location Local Start Time
Vancouver, Canada 08:30 PDT
Washington DC, USA 11:30 EDT
London, United Kingdom 16:30 BST
Paris, France 17:30 CEST
Athens, Greece 18:30 EEST
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 19:30 GST
New Delhi, India 21:00 IST
Beijing, China 23:30 CST

 

WHEN
June 19, 2020 at 11:30am - 2:30pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom - Online
CONTACT
Deandra Anderson ·
73 RSVPS
Charles Garrett Phillip Johnson Christina Skovsgaard Nakia Sims Karen Lee philip wright Ivy Bittle Terri Copeland Alece Alexander Shelby Robinson angela huston Brittni Young Judy Fried Lissette Wright Gregory Haley Kim Wilburn Kathryn Edson Michael Kavate Sara Otto Maureen McFerson Mandi Larsen Anthony Moss-Zobel Erin Watson Cuthbert Telesford Okechuku Enyia Hayley Haupt Renee McCormack Brooke Burns Matel Sow Rebecca Naidis Naomi Trego Derek Bembry Dorrie Wilson Melinda Brown Paalla Øvergaard Serita Braxton martina blackman Pauline Manos Gerald Loftus Barbara Chap Kelsey McLendon Marcy Fowler Stefanie Castillo Cristiana Baez-Safa Heyhat Hajo Concetta Antonelli Carija Ihus Stacy Streuli

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?