Earth Day Workshop: Making Face Masks (22 April, 16:00 CET)

During this global pandemic, many of us are wondering: should wear face masks, where to get them, and how to make them. 

DA LGBT Caucus Co-Chair Martha McDevitt-Pugh has been making face masks. In this workshop, she will share her experiences and tips on making face masks for yourself and others, and how to engage your community in supporting those of us who want and need to wear masks. 

Want to try making your own mask? Below are some resources to get you started.

 

Video instructions for making the mask

Make a face mask 

The differences in masks: which mask should I make?

To make the best mask, what to use

Face Mask pattern

Wearing masks: taboos and culture

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/09/world/europe/virus-mask-wearing.html

Should I wear a mask? 

https://www.sfgate.com/shopping/article/should-i-wear-a-mask-coronavirus-CDC-15192780.php

Who Should Wear a Mask?

When and how to use masks

Resources for making different kinds of face masks

https://www.nytimes.com/article/how-to-make-face-mask-coronavirus.html

https://www.washingtonpost.com/health/2020/04/05/how-sew-your-own-fabric-mask

https://makefacemasks.com

https://masks4humanity.org

 

EVENT TIMES

07:00 PST (SAN Francisco, Seattle)

10:00 EST (New York, Washington D.C.)

15:00 GMT (London)

16:00 CET (Spain, Germany, Sweden)

 

 

WHEN
April 22, 2020 at 10am - 1pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)