Sunday, April 30

How the New Ohio Voting Law Affects Overseas Civilian and Military Voters

Ohio_Connie_Pillich_event3.png

In January, Ohio Governor Mike DeWine signed Ohio House Bill (HB) 458, modifying the state’s election laws. Our guest speaker, Connie Pillich, chair of the Ohio Democratic Party’s Veterans & Military Community Caucus, criticized DeWine for signing HB 458 because she says it permits tossing military ballots.

Please join the Ohio State Team and the Veterans and Military Families Caucus for an explanation and discussion of how the changes affect overseas voters.

RSVP to receive the Zoom link to join the meeting.

 

About Connie Pillich:

Connie Pillich is the Chair of the Ohio Dems' VMF Caucus and the Vice Chair of the DNC VMC Council. She is an Air Force veteran and is the OH Dems' point-person on UOCAVA voting.

Connie served honorably in the Air Force for more than eight years, logged three terms in the Ohio Legislature as the State Representative for the 28th Ohio House District, and during a highly successful career as an attorney, providing countless time and acts of leadership to a plethora of organizations and causes. Connie holds memberships with the Cincinnati Bar Association, the Ohio State Bar Association, and the Women’s Bar Association of the District of Columbia. As an attorney, she once argued and won a case before the Ohio Supreme Court and also did pro bono work for those in need. As a state representative, she introduced the Ohio Veterans Bonus Program for post-9/11 veterans. She also was the founder of the Veterans Caucus and served on the State Council on Educational Opportunities for Military Children. Connie also was a mainstay on several other governmental committees, including the Ohio State Patrol Mission Review Task Force and the Ohio Family Violence Prevention Center Advisory Council. Among her many efforts to improve society and her community was to push the legislature to require insurance coverage for mammograms and the City of Cincinnati to adopt a mandatory arrest policy for domestic violence investigations. Connie’s involvements are endless. She was Chair of the Ault Park Independence Day Celebration, Program Director for the Clifton Track Club, President of the JELC Parent Cooperative, Vice President of Kennedy Heights Montessori Center, a founding member of the Linguini Group Investment Club, a coach, and referee for youth soccer, is a Girl Scouts volunteer, and serves on numerous committees and boards. Connie is in the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame.

 

Location Event Start Time
Vancouver, Canada            08:30 PDT
Central Time, CT             10:30 CDT
Washington DC, USA           11:30 EDT
London, United Kingdom       16:30 BST
Paris, France                17:30 CEST
Nairobi, Kenya               18:30 EAT
Dubai, United Arab Emirates  19:30 GST
New Delhi, India             21:00 IST

WHEN

Sunday, April 30, 2023 at 11:30 AM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time

WHERE

CONTACT

Ohio State Team
[email protected]

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.
If you are already a member of Democrats Abroad, please enter your name and email address that you have on your membership record.

39 RSVPs