May News: Let’s Celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

Happy Asian Pacific American Heritage Month! With all the events going on surrounding the AAPI community, we hope this will be a month where we can focus on celebrating our diverse cultures and histories. You can read up on the history of APA Month on our website.

We have a number of events lined up for May. You can find the list of events below, but continue to check out our events page as new events are added. Our first event is happening TODAY, May 3rd. We’ll be talking about SLAYSIANS - five fashion insiders Phillip Lim, Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Tina Leung and Ezra Williams - and how their group’s hashtag (#Slaysians) evolved from a love of fashion and food into activism for the AAPI community.

Make sure to also follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for updates and interesting facts about #APAHM that we’ll be sharing.

On the weekend of May 15-16, Democrats Abroad will hold its Global Meeting to elect its new leaders for its Global Executive Committee (Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Legal Counsel). Join us, along with the Global Hispanic Caucus, at our candidate forum on Thursday, May 6, 2021 at 6am EDT.  This session will be  focused on the issues of diversity and inclusion in our organization. All are welcome to attend.

Last month, in honor of climate awareness month, we had a Tofu Tuesday recipe series to provide some carbon-footprint reduction inspiration.  We would love to have more recipes that we can share throughout APA Heritage month, so feel free to send us your recipes and stories here

We look forward to meeting you at one of our many events this month!

Best wishes,

Cory J. Lemke and Emily Lines

News

Call for Interview Questions for @AsianLitForKids

Please join our conversation with the creator of the Instagram account @AsianLitForKids on the intersection of anti-racism, activism, and Asian literature for children.

We want YOU to send us a question you have for our upcoming (recorded) discussion by May 9, 2021.

  1. Post your question on social media with the hashtag #AsianLitxDA", or
  2. Email your questions to [email protected] with the subject line "AsianLitxDA". Questions will be selected and edited as time allows.

@AsianLitForKids is a frequently-updated, meaningful showcase of “children's books featuring characters of Asian and other BIPOC identities for all libraries, bookshelves, and cozy reading moments.”

Keep an eye on our socials and webpage for the interview video as well as additional resources from @AsianLitForKids in celebration of Asian American Heritage Month.

Missed an event? Catch up here!

Discussing Parasite with the Progressive Caucus: We held a collaborative event with the Progressive Caucus - which we hope was the first of many -  to discuss the most notorious film of 2019, Parasite. The aim of this event, which took place on March 27, was to kick off a potential film club and to gather film buffs together to share ideas, perspectives, and raise concerns relating to society today.

Events

“Slaysians” of Asian American Fashion and their Influence on Culture, Food and Activism

Monday, May 3, 2021
7pm Singapore / 1pm Berlin / 7am Washington, D.C.
RSVP | Facebook

Beyond Justice for George Floyd

Wednesday, May 5, 2021
9pm India / 6:30pm Berlin / 12:30pm Washington D.C.
RSVP | Facebook

AAPI Caucus and Hispanic Caucus Meet the Candidates

Thursday, May 6, 2021
7pm Seoul / 12pm Berlin / 6am Washington, D.C.
RSVP

The "Othering" of East Asians

Thursday, May 6, 2021
7pm Berlin / 1pm Washington, D.C.
RSVP

A Conversation with Asian American Leaders

Co-hosted by the DA Germany - North and Central Bavaria Chapter
Friday, May 7, 2021
7pm Berlin / 1pm Washington, D.C.
RSVP | Facebook

Let's Make Korean Street Food!

Co-hosted by the DA Germany - North and Central Bavaria Chapter
Saturday, May 8, 2021
8:30pm India / 5pm Berlin / 11am Washington, D.C.
RSVP

Teatime in May (EMEA & Americas)

Wednesday, May 12, 2021
7pm Berlin / 1pm Washington, D.C.
RSVP

Southeast Asian Pub Quiz

Tuesday, May 18, 2021
10:30pm Korea / 3:30pm Berlin / 9:30am Washington, D.C.
RSVP

Cooking Filipino Chicken Adobo with Chef Vinnie

Saturday, May 22, 2021
8pm Korea / 1pm Berlin / 7am Washington, D.C.
RSVP

Teatime in May (Asia-Pacific)

Wednesday, May 26, 2021
7pm Korea / 12pm Berlin / 6am Washington, D.C.
RSVP

South Asian Movie Night: 3 Idiots

Thursday, May 27, 2021
9:30pm India / 6pm Berlin / 12pm Washington, D.C.
RSVP

Meet the AAPI Caucus Team

Ifung Lu, AAPI Caucus Steering Committee Member:

"Hi! I'm Ifung! I am of Taiwanese-Chinese descent and I vote in Illinois. I joined Democrats Abroad in 2016 when I was living in London. After over a decade spent in the UK, my German-American family and I moved to Cologne, Germany where we live today and where I continue to volunteer for Democrats Abroad..." Read more about Ifung

Karen Frankenstein, DA Global AAPI Caucus Steering Committee Member, Global IT Team; Global Caucus Coordinator:

"I joined Democrats Abroad as an active volunteer in 2016. Having lived abroad in Europe and Asia for much of my life, feeling like an American abroad wasn’t really a motivating factor for joining DA - but the shocking election of our 45th President was. And I never really thought much about being Asian American - there weren’t many half-Asian kids running around when I was a child, so my brothers and I called ourselves “hapa”, the Hawaiian word for someone of mixed ancestry - and left it at that. I’m half Chinese and half German-Irish-English-Jewish-Unitarian Chicago Democrat, as we jokingly say..." Read more about Karen

Twitter Icon