DAJ Action mtg: Gun Violence Prevention

Gun Violence Prevention: what we can do from overseas

Online discussion on what is being done to end gun violence the US and what you can do to make a difference.

  • Saturday, June 18, 11am-1pm Japan 
  • Friday, June 17, 7pm US Pacific time  / 10pm New York
  • Virtual doors open 10 min before event start - see local AP times below

Join us in welcoming Tremayne Edwards, the Education and Engagement Director of the Alliance for Gun Responsibility, who will address perceptions about firearms, factors contributing to the prevalence of gun violence in the US, how such perceptions and violence are impacting Persons of Colour communities and young people today. His presentation will be followed by a round table discussion, Q & A and small group discussion about what you can do to make a difference.  DAJ Action events aim to do more than educate. In the second hour we introduce real solutions and specific actions you can take today to promote safer communities back where you vote!

Guest speaker: Tremayne Edwards, Education and Engagement Director, Alliance for Gun Responsibility

Round table discussion:

  • Patrick Lovell, Member, DA Japan
  • Michael Scala, Attorney, former Democratic nominee for the New York City Council, former counsel and legislative director in the New York State Senate
  • Tremayne Edwards, Education and Engagement Director, Alliance for Gun Responsibility
  • Moderator: Jaylon Carter, Chair, Black Lives Matter, Tokyo

Action Session: Lead by Sarajean Rossitto, Chair, Democrats Abroad Japan

Local start times:

  • Asia-Pacific Times => Sat June 18:  2pm Auckland / 12pm Sydney / 11am Japan & Korea / 10am Hong Kong, China, Taiwan, Manila, Singapore, Bali, Perth / 9am Thailand & Vietnam / 7:30 New Delhi / 7am W Kazakhstan
  •  USA =>  Friday June 17 7pm Seattle  / 10pm New York
  • 10:55-12:20 Facebook live event on the Democrats Abroad Japan page.
About our speakers:
  • Tremayne Edwards joined the Alliance in 2021 as the Education and Engagement Director. In this role, he provides programming that educates, engages, and advocates for communities impacted by gun violence. Before the Alliance, Tremayne worked in Virginia as a Director of Community Engagement working to address and dismantle barriers that prevented access to various members of his community. When you can’t find Tremayne at a community event, you can find him in the mountains with his puppy.

  • Patrick Lovell is a long-term member of Democrats Abroad and has long supported common sense gun legislation for the United States but after his cousin and wife were senselessly gunned down in their home last year, he realised that just supporting gun legislation was not enough.

  • Jaylon Carter is the Chair and Co-founder of Black Lives Matter Tokyo. He is a blogger, social media marketing consultant, Japanese labor union Executive Officer, former Congressional Campaign Media & Communications Director, and a Hip Hop artist who performs under the stage name Timid.

  • Mike Scala is an attorney and former Democratic nominee for the New York City Council. He has also been elected to the Queens County Democratic Committee and served as counsel and legislative director in the New York State Senate.

  • Sarajean Rossitto, life long activist, ran for DAJ chair to have an impact on the 2022 elections and on the issues she cares about most. She works to promote proactive social change between classes, nonprofit projects, theater productions and conflict mediation trainings.

Event Overview - Japan time

10:50 virtual doors open
11:00 Welcome and overview, Sarajean Rossitto, DA Japan Chair
11:10 Guest speaker
11:25 Response and Discussion
11:45 Audience Q and A
12:05 Actions we can take
12:15 Break out room discussion - based on action items
12:35 Reconvene and Debrief
12:45 Confirm action items
13:00 Sign off
WHEN
June 18, 2022 at 11:00am - 1pm Tokyo Time
WHERE
Online - RSVP to get Zoom link
Tokyo
Japan
Google map and directions
CONTACT
sarajean rossitto ·
55 RSVPS
Ayako Hatano Kuramoto Kazuteru Thomas Dreves d k Eric Bossieux Brad Kadet Miriam Arai Carmelan Polce Tanya Tanaka Masahiro Tobe Ann Endo Fukuhara Toshio Matthew Axvig Marian Hara Gordon Taft Gwen Catley Elizabeth Blackbourn Tina Saunders Layne Mostyn Sheryl Bridgewater Rachel Macy Rachel DePalma Kevin Lane Carl Gardner Patricia Elleven Billy Burton Robert Sanderson Alexis Pusina John Philips Jaylon Carter Denise Roig Ruth Rogers Patrick Lovell Colleen Beery Terry Rosson Vanya Voutilainen Linda Crawford Vicky Shiang Alyson McLean Susan Fitoussi marnie delaney sarajean rossitto

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?