Online webinar: The Basics of Cross-Border Estate Planning for Americans Living in Canada

Sunday, June 28th

4:00PM ADT / 3:00PM EDT / 2:00PM CDT / 1:00PM CST / 12:00PM PDT

US citizens in Canada are subject to double tax and estate trouble. This webinar will review the basics of cross-border estate planning for Canadian resident US citizens. Join us to hear our presenter, Max Reed, as he covers a wide-range of topics, including: 

  • What is a will and how do I get it to work in both countries?
  • Overview of Canadian tax at death
  • Overview of US tax at death
  • Giving to charity 
  • Inheriting from US parents
  • Trusts - what they are and how they work
  • Top 10 cross-border estate planning traps

About Max Reed

Max Reed is a cross-border tax lawyer at Polaris Tax Counsel in Vancouver Canada. He focuses on tax strategies for those with tax issues that span the Canada-US border. Specifically, he helps US citizens in Canada with their tax and estate planning needs, renouncing their US citizenship, and getting caught up on overdue taxes. You can read more about Max here -> http://polaristax.com/max-reed/

Access to the webinar requires advance registration below. Upon registering you’ll receive an email with the access details.

There is no requirement of a donation to attend but we hope you’ll consider a donation of $10 USD to support the Democrats Abroad get out the vote efforts in 2020. It’s going to be a crucial election requiring Democrats Abroad to rely heavily on phone banking and social media campaigns to reach the millions of eligible American voters living abroad.

Thank you for your support - we look forward to you joining the webinar.

**You must RSVP below to receive the WebEx access details.**

WHEN
June 28, 2020 at 3pm - 4:30pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Online via the WebEx platform
453 W 12th Ave
Vancouver, BC V5Y 1V4
Canada
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Julie Buchanan ·
307 RSVPS
Jane Allan Paulette Kelly Fredric Weizmann Beverlee Loat Anne Hayes David Hensley Kimm Michaud Lynn Lavoie Tara Naz Anita Lemonis Megan Broner Mary Conchelos Pamela Drucker Diane Pecor Kevin Brown Gail Littlejohn Cailin O’Hern jane white Allenna Leonard steve finley Doug Mertz David Bodenberg Dan Ronis Susan Bunten Daniel Herlinger Irene Bernard Wayne Cole Susan Brennan Margaretta Sander Daniel Loeb Lynn Filusch John Yee Jane Watts Laura Lang Sarah Forrest Abby Schwarz Chris Webb Steven Saunders Catherine Haverstock Sandra Mortensen Joan Clasen Lisa Burton Allen Olsen Mark Vimr Craig Wilson Mary Krohn Ann Daskal James Stillwell

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

CA