100 Years Later - The Fight for Equality Continues

56.png

The GWC and GBC invite you to join in conversation with a champion for women’s rights as they discuss with us the on-going battles for equality in the United States. She has fought to bring women into the Constitution and is far too familiar with all of the reasons the ERA is absolutely mandatory to provide and protect the rights of women. The attack on women’s rights, particularly over the last four years has intensified, with every aspect of women’s lives threatened and the challenge is clear, we must have that protection. But, to pass the Equal Rights Amendment, we must flip the Senate.  If you haven’t put your focus there yet, you will by the time this conversation is over. 100 years after women took the vote by sheer force of will, it is time for women to use that power to defeat the opponents of their rights.

ABOUT OUR GUEST:

Smeal.pngEleanor (Ellie) Smeal
As Co-Founder and President of the Feminist Majority Foundation and former President of the National Organization for Women (NOW), Ellie has played a pivotal role in defining the debate, developing the strategies, and charting the direction of the modern day women’s movement for nearly five decades. She was the first to identify the “gender gap” – the difference in the way women and men vote and view issues – and popularized its usage in election and polling analyses to enhance women’s voting clout. Ellie has been an activist leader in the passage of landmark legislation, such as the Pregnancy Discrimination Act, Equal Credit Act, Violence Against Women Act, and Freedom of Access to Clinic Entrances Act. She led the fight for the U.S. ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment (from 1977-1982), and is in the leadership of the current efforts to pass the ERA.  

If you have questions for the panelist, you can send them in advance to womenscaucus@democratsabroad.org

Location

Local Event Start Time

Vancouver, Canada 10:00 PDT 
Minneapolis, USA 12:00 CDT
Washington DC, USA 13:00 EDT 
London, United Kingdom 18:00 BST 
Frankfurt, Germany 19:00 CEST 
Nairobi, Kenya 20:00 EAT
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 21:00 GST 
Bangkok, Thailand 22:00 ICT 
Beijing, China 23:00 CST

 

WHEN
August 25, 2020 at 1pm - 2pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom (virtual Forum)
CONTACT
Global Womens Caucus ·
54 RSVPS
Suzi Kaplan Patricia Brewster-Willeke Brewster-Willeke Michael S Goodman Cynthia Romero Joan Solon Carol Moore Sarah Towle Kenton Barnes Laura Mosedale Diane nero Kristin Wolfe Victoria Pao Elaine McCarthy Adrienne Johnson Ebony Buehler Van Barber Michelle Taube Adrianne George Deandra Anderson Theresa Morelli-Fornari Sarah Manlove Carija Ihus Cindy Bjoelgerud Pierre Filatov shari ritter Hanne Ankersen Monica Campbell Christina Skovsgaard Shari Temple Salli Swartz Constance Borde Jane Guthrie Cuthbert Telesford Diane Haven Ann Hesse marion delaney Susan Fitoussi

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?