D.C. Mayor, Muriel Bowser, Speaks to Democrats Abroad

for Women’s History Month

Join us for a conversation with courageous D.C. Mayor, Muriel Bowser.  We’ll hear her speak about female leadership during troubled times and her campaign for D.C. statehood. We’ll ask about her response to the black lives matter protests, the pandemic, insurrectionists attacking the capitol and how granting statehood to the district would make responding to these and other challenges more effective. We’re also eager to hear about how Democrats Abroad can help her reach her goal.

This event is co-sponsored by the DA Global Women’s Caucus and DA South Africa

 

Biography

On November 6, 2018, Muriel Bowser became the first woman ever re-elected as the Mayor of Washington, DC, and the first mayor to earn a second term in 16 years. Since taking office, the Mayor has taken bold steps to reset DC’s global and national competitiveness, speed up affordable housing production, diversify the DC economy, increase satisfaction in city services, and invest in programs and policies that allow more families to live and thrive in DC.

In the past five years, Mayor Bowser has implemented an exhaustive list of measurements and policy including adding more than 57,000 jobs and reducing unemployment by 28%, increasing annual investment in affordable housing, championing a wide range of family-friendly policies, including raising the minimum wage to $15/hour, adding more than 1,000 new childcare seats, and focusing attention on improving maternal health outcomes. Furthermore, Mayor Bowers has collaborated with leaders from C40 cities around the world to advance the goals of the Paris Climate Agreement, all-the-while earning an 86% statehood approval rating.

 

RSVP to receive the zoom link.


Event Time Around the World:

Vancouver 11 AM PST
Toronto 2 PM EST
London, UK 6 PM GMT
Berlin 7 PM CET
Johannesburg, South Africa 8 PM SAST
Hong Kong 2 AM HKT, March 25

 

WHEN
March 24, 2021 at 2pm - 3pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom Meeting
CONTACT
Stayce Camparo
693 RSVPS
William Collier Farhan Siddik Phelena Jean Hasan Diriye Abdi Farah Raina Saul Janet Perry Nelleke Bruyn Karena Detweiler Robert Osley jonny sender Karen Thomas Susan Lehman David Hudnall Brett McHargue Marjorie Bernstein Alan Cheilek Jodi Szarko Patrick Bealey Jane Watts Kim Rochette Margo Seymour Clove Haviva Shannon Yang Tillie Ch’ien Jean Kroeber Gloria Dixon-Svärd Karen Wildau Rebecca Petras Anandhi Rajakumaran Deborah Moses-Sanks Charla Devereux Siobhan Mulkeen Sally Ramseur D’Arcy Williams Carole Crawford Madeline Landauer Arthur Rosenfeld Jon Fox John Poirier Pierre Filatov Susan Asch Carla Signes Ilonka Troncoso Robin Lofton kathleen Dameron Jenny Soderbergh Chris Tachibana John Davidson

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?