Vote for Equality – Evidence it Works

The Role that Voting Played in ERA Ratification in Virginia

WHEN
July 31, 2020 @16:00 CEST/14:00 UTC/ 10:00 EDT

WHERE
Zoom (virtual Forum)

Learn why YOUR VOTE is important for equality.  Join us Friday July 31st at 16:00 CEST/14:00 UTC/10:00 EDT for a conversation with VoteEqualityUS leaders Kati Hornung and Tonja Roberts-Brooks. They will explain how they leveraged the ballot box as the tool to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment in Virginia.  They will share the strategies in the fight for ratification of the ERA in Virginia and how they are expanding that nation-wide for gender equality.  They will also discuss what the ERA would mean for women and why voting for pro-equality candidates in November is so important.

ABOUT OUR GUESTS:

Hornung.pngKati Hornung leads the VoteEqualityUS campaign, a national grassroots campaign promoting equal rights for all Americans. Previously she led the VAratifyERA campaign that achieved Virginia’s ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment in January, 2020. Her efforts have been driven by her own life’s experiences, the interest of her two children in correcting the purposeful, historical exclusion of women from our Constitution, and the hope that incarcerated women would have a new tool in their legal toolbox to challenge government-based discrimination.

Roberts-Brooks.pngTonja Roberts-Brooks is the outreach director for VoteEqualityUS which is a grassroots campaign advocating to make gender equality the law of the land.  She has volunteered as a voter protection advocate for over 15 years serving as an inside poll observer, reporting obstructions to and protecting the right to vote for all citizens.  She has a B.A. in government from the University of Virginia and a JD  from North Carolina Central University School of Law.  She is a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., the National Bar Association, International Focus, Inc. and recent graduate of the Candidates Training Program at the University of Virginia Sorensen’s Institute. Her passion is advocating for quality education for all and safe housing opportunities with a particular focus on veterans.

 

About VoteEqualityUS (www.voteequality.us)
“We are a volunteer, nonpartisan grassroots campaign working to enshrine equal rights by ensuring the ERA (Equal Rights Amendment) becomes part of the U.S. Constitution. The ERA states that, “Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.” Currently, the U.S. is the only major country in the world that does not include gender equality in its constitution. Join the movement now and this year, let’s vote for equality!"

If you have questions for the panelists, you can send them in advance to womenscaucus@democratsabroad.org

Location

Local Event Start Time

Vancouver, Canada 07:00 PDT 
Minneapolis, USA 9:00 CDT
Washington DC, USA 10:00 EDT 
London, United Kingdom 15:00 BST 
Frankfurt, Germany 16:00 CEST 
Nairobi, Kenya 17:00 EAT
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 18:00 GST 
Bangkok, Thailand 19:00 ICT 
Beijing, China 20:00 CST

 

WHEN
July 31, 2020 at 10am - 11am Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom (virtual Forum)
CONTACT
Global Womens Caucus and Global Black Caucus ·
52 RSVPS
Kathryn Fuller Cindy Bjoelgerud Thomas van Haaren Nancy Schimkat Robert V. Scott Tish Riley Esther Lofgren Christina Skovsgaard Bitsy Ford Shephard Diane Haven April Perkinson Margaret Jones Daniel Stein Michaele de Rivera Denise Roig Ellen Fritz Caleb Martin Barbara Chap Jane Hoelker Katie Solon Ronda Zelezny-Green Martha McDevitt-Pugh Stephanie Ryde Patrick Hogan Pierre Filatov Anita Lang Laura Rostowfske Reilly Karen Lee Patricia Bueno Constance Borde Joann Sochor marion delaney Adrianne George Susan Fitoussi Salli Swartz Dana Freling Shari Temple Karen Frankenstein

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?