Webinar with Andrea Young, Executive Director of the ACLU of GA

andrea_young_new_headshot.jpg

 

Join Democrats Abroad Global Black Caucus for a Conversation with Andrea Young, Executive Director of the ACLU of GA. Andrea will share her wealth of knowledge and expertise around the 2020 election and what we can learn from it as we move forward into the Biden Era.  We will discuss with Andrea her thoughts on Voter Suppression, the role of the Black vote, and what we can all do to help democracy continue to prevail in the current climate. RSVP to receive the Zoom link.

 

Event Start Time by Location

Washington DC, USA Thu, 26 Feb 2021 21:00 EST
Frankfurt, Germany Fri, 26 Feb 2021 03:00 CET
New Delhi, India Fri, 26 Feb 2021 07:30 IST
Bangkok, Thailand Fri, 26 Feb 2021 09:00 ICT
Singapore, Singapore Fri, 26 Feb 2021 10:00 SGT
Tokyo, Japan Fri, 26 Feb 2021 11:00 JST
Adelaide, Australia Fri, 26 Feb 2021 12:30 ACDT
Melbourne, Australia Fri, 26 Feb 2021 13:00 AEDT
Auckland, New Zealand Fri, 26 Feb 2021 15:00 NZDT

About the Speaker

Andrea Young is the executive director of the 22,000 member American Civil Liberties Union of Georgia. She is a life-long advocate for civil and human rights. The ACLU of Georgia is a trusted, ethical, nonpartisan defender of our civil liberties: opposing threats to civil liberties; combatting voter suppression; supporting criminal justice reform; protecting freedom of speech, immigrant rights, and women’s rights, especially reproductive freedom. Under her leadership, the ACLU of Georgia has reimagined its work on a framework integrating legal action, policy, advocacy, civic engagement, and communications.

Prior to taking the helm of the statewide affiliate of the ACLU in January 2017, Young was an Adjunct Professor at the Andrew Young School of Policy Studies at Georgia State University. For many years, she served as executive director at the Andrew J. Young Foundation producing a nationally-syndicated series of documentary films and other programs on themes of civil and human rights.

Young has devoted her career to promoting policies to defend and extend civil and human rights. In the arena of national legislation, Young served as a legislative assistant to Senator Edward Kennedy contributing to significant civil rights and international policy including the Martin Luther King Holiday Act and South Africa sanctions legislation. She later worked with the United Church of Christ in global mission and advocacy, returning to the Capitol to serve as Chief of Staff for the first woman to represent Georgia in Congress, Cynthia McKinney. She served as Vice President for External Affairs for Planned Parenthood of Metropolitan Washington, defending a woman’s right to reproductive healthcare. As Vice President of the National Black Child Development Institute, Young led a school readiness initiative that increased local investments in early care and education and led to a commitment to universal pre-kindergarten in Washington, DC.

Young is the author of Life Lessons My Mother Taught Me; co-author of Andrew Young and the Making of Modern Atlanta and collaborated with former Atlanta Mayor Andrew Young in writing, editing and researching An Easy Burden: Civil Rights and the Transformation of America. She has been recognized, nationally for her work as an advocate for civil and human rights. Young is a graduate of Swarthmore College and received her law degree from Georgetown University School of Law. She is a member of the State Bar of Georgia.

 

WHEN
February 26, 2021 at 1pm - 2:30pm Sydney Time
WHERE
Online - Zoom
CONTACT
Stephanie Zuniga-Maher ·
69 RSVPS
Paul Hickman Steve Nardi Stephanie Zuniga-Maher Kathleen Brouillette Katie Solon James Lockett Evelyn Riera Thomas Wall Stella Kao Neal Stender Michael Gallagher Mary Lindsey Tanya Smith Diane Haven Karen Thomas Megan Jukic Kat Allikian Brittany Pruitt Nadia Diakun-Thibault Joyce Hewett Becca Young Liz Lempicki Marcia Henry Lavita Alston-Emerson Carmen Pang Lynn Keeys Nadine Hack kathleen Dameron Angela Shaw Susan Fitoussi John Davidson Sharon Ann Ligons Isa Kocher Tyler Thorpe Wendy Gaylord Roland Nicholas Dana Rawls Christophe xavier Ayizoa Meke Juan Morales Jane LePorte Janet Mcclelland Norma Hervey Micayla Costa Jacqueline Swartz Angela Fobbs

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?