Women To Win AZ Forum - Flipping the Arizona Legislature and Ratifying the ERA

Flipping the Arizona Legislature and Ratifying the ERA

Meet some of the amazing Democratic women running to flip the red AZ legislature BLUE! 

Join the Global Women’s Caucus for our “Women to Win AZ” Candidate Forum!  Five candidates running for the  Arizona senate and house will join Democrats Abroad to discuss how important it is for Democrats to flip the state legislature blue in a crucial state, and immediately thereafter hopefully, ratify the Equal Rights Amendment. They need our help to take these seats and advance criticall Democratic priorities like the ERA, healthcare, public education, common sense gun legislation, climate change, racial justice, and economic equality.

The candidates joining the “Women to Win AZ” Forum on September 3rd are:

Coral Evans, a social, non-profit, and public policy entrepreneur with over 25 years of applied experience assisting diverse populations experiencing the systemic effects of poverty. First elected to office in 2008, Coral served for eight years as a Council member in Flagstaff, prior to her election as Mayor in 2016. She was re-elected Mayor in 2018. Coral believes in a balanced approach to the stewardship of community resources and is passionate about creating opportunities that allow for civic engagement, civil discourse, community revitalization and genuine sustainability and advancement of all people.

Felicia French, a decorated 32-year Army and Arizona National Guard veteran, pediatric and hospice nurse, community college educator, MedEvac helicopter pilot, entrepreneur, sustainability scientist, and proud mom.  She is a third-generation Arizonan who has dedicated her life to public service and now  is running for State Senate. Her priorities are fully-funded public education, affordable and accessible quality healthcare, and a more accountable state government that will deliver local job opportunities while protecting Arizona’s water and land for families and future generations.

Sharon Girard, a physician’s assistant, emergency medic, reproductive rights activist, and nationally recognized expert on adolescent pregnancy. She is a strong advocate for women, focused on the needs of the underprivileged and those without a voice. Sharon is running for the Arizona House of Representatives with an emphasis on improving access to affordable healthcare, investing in public education, reducing gun violence, and protecting women’s right to choose. 

Kathy Knecht, an educator, volunteer, mother and champion for economic development who wants to hold the government accountable to people, not special interests. Kathy worked as a public elementary school teacher, served twelve years as a governing board member for the Peoria School Board and five years as a board member of the Arizona School Boards Association. Her passion for great public schools is what drives her to seek office in the Arizona House of Representatives. 

Judy Schwiebert, an educator, community leader, and volunteer running for the Arizona State House. Judy grew up in Phoenix and worked as a high school teacher for 27 years in the Glendale Union and Peoria Unified School Districts. As a single mom, Judy raised her two sons in the Washington and Glendale Union District Schools and volunteered as a reader for 2nd graders in the Paradise Valley District. She also helped found two organisations in her community that support the arts. Judy’s priorities are to restore public education funding, ensure quality affordable healthcare for all, and build a strong economy so that all of Arizona’s families and businesses can thrive.

Dianne Post is an attorney with 40 years experience, 18 in representing battered women and molested children in family law cases and then 15 more in international human rights focusing on gender-based violence. She is widely published and is on the steering committee of the ERA Task Force AZ, facilitator for the Central AZ National Lawyers Guild, and treasurer for the Central Phoenix Inez Casiano NOW chapter.

Join us on September 3 at 10 AM EST to hear from these amazing women, learn how you can help these amazing women flip the Arizona legislature blue and the importance of voting down ballot in every state! RSVP to receive the information for joining this virtual event. 

If you have questions for the candidates, you can send them in advance to womenscaucus@democratsabroad.org. Please use the subject line “Women to Win AZ Forum - question”.

 

 

Location

Local Event Start Time

Phoenix, Arizona

7:00 PDT

Minneapolis, USA

9:00 CDT

Washington DC, USA

10:00 EDT

London, United Kingdom

15:00 BST

Frankfurt, Germany

16:00 CEST

Nairobi, Kenya

17:00 EAT

Dubai, United Arab Emirates

18:00 GST

Bangkok, Thailand

21:00 ICT

Beijing, China

22:00 CST

 

WHEN
September 03, 2020 at 10am - 11am Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
ZOOM - Online Forum
1700 W Washington St
Phoenix, AZ 85254
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Womens Caucus ·
72 RSVPS
Diane nero George Furst Diane Haven Pierre Filatov Wendy Silberman Isabel Liu Jennifer Hill Ashley Brennan Susan Rappaport Constance Borde Theresa Morelli-Fornari Kate Glenney Kim Antonsen Cory Lemke Katherine Sawyer Carrie McDonald marion delaney MacKenzie Horn Christina Skovsgaard Marta Marciszewska Jamie McAfee Marionna Worner Sylvia Wallach Angela Fobbs Matt Kennedy Ginny-Lee Richardson Shari Temple Stephen Benedetti Naomi Tomita Evan Storey Heyhat Hajo Kelly Iacovone Ash Azima Susan Fitoussi Joan Solon Karen Frankenstein Evie Walls Courtney Newman Carol Moore Dash Nesbitt Salli Swartz Candice Kerestan Nancy Neumann Deandra Anderson Teresa Ritterhoff Beverly Seebach Jennifer von Estorff Ann Hesse

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

WC