Women To Win Candidate Forum

Meet some of the amazing Democratic women running for Congress this November!  

Join the Global Women’s Caucus for our “Women to Win” Candidate Forum.  These Democrats will speak about their priorities for governing, what brought them into the political arena and the state of the races in their districts.  They need our help to advance crucial Democratic policies such as healthcare reform, climate change, racial justice,economic equality, national security and immigration reform.  

Elissa Slotkin has represented Michigan’s 8th Congressional District since January, 2019, winning against a Republican incumbent in a district won by Trump in ‘16.  From Michigan, she decided to join the CIA after the 9/11 attacks, devoting her career to protecting the US from national security threats.  Slotkin served three tours in Iraq as a CIA militia expert and later was the Acting Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs under President Obama.  In September, 2019, she was one of seven freshmen Democratic members of Congress, all veterans of the military or intelligence agencies, who signed a letter in The Washington Post calling for the House to launch an impeachment enquiry.  

Hillary Scholten was raised in Michigan and began her career in social work work fighting LBGTQ+ housing discrimination.  She went to law school and worked in the Department of Justice in the Obama administration on immigration policies, later joining the Michigan Immigrants Rights Center. She is running to flip Michigan’s 3rd Congressional District blue,  a battleground district where the Libertarian incumbent, Justin Amash, decided in July to withdraw from the race.  

Kate Schroder is a fifth-generation Cincinnatian running to flip Ohio’s 1st Congressional District blue. She is a healthcare professional and legislative expert with more than fifteen years of experience, two of which were spent in Zambia working for the Clinton Health Access as a country director. Kate also holds an MBA from the Wharton School and is currently the Finance Chair of the Cincinnati Board of Public Health.

Please join us to learn about how you can help these amazing women win! RSVP to receive the information for joining this virtual event.  And read more about the candidates in the recent interviews on the DA GWC Candidate Information Action Team webpage:  www.democratsabroad.org/wc_cia_team 

If you have questions for the candidates, you can send them in advance to womenscaucus@democratsabroad.org. Please use the subject line “Women to Win Forum - question”

Location

Local Event Start Time

Vancouver, Canada

9:00 PDT

Minneapolis, USA

11:00 CDT

Washington DC, USA

12:00 EDT

London, United Kingdom

17:00 BST

Frankfurt, Germany

18:00 CEST

Nairobi, Kenya

19:00 EAT

Dubai, United Arab Emirates

20:00 GST

Bangkok, Thailand

21:00 ICT

Beijing, China

22:00 CST

 

WHEN
September 08, 2020 at 12pm - 12pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom - Online Forum
75 RSVPS
Carin Elam Erin Weems-McGuire Jennifer Connely Kelli Hartshorn Margaret Johnson Maureen Belaski Claire Naughton Rachel Rappaport Carla Solis Jennifer Hill Alexander Foster-EL Nobu Kelly-Orlee Kristen Vincent Kathy Mahan Mishka Stuip Diane Haven Pierre Filatov Isabel Liu Isabel Liu Sylvia Wallach Laura Spota Ciara Jevon Sarah McLellan Justin Hart Carrie McDonald marion delaney Risa Greenstein Janet Hackel Shari Temple Angela Sittaro Christina Skovsgaard Susan Brown-Shafii Laura Vogel Faustina Sandoval Theresa Morelli-Fornari Matt Kennedy Cindi Cook Karen Lee Kaitlin Schaefer Helen Groothuis Jamie McAfee Ann Hesse Katie Solon Elizabeth Kelly Kathryn Pauli Anne Bagamery Carol Moore

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

WC