Stop AAPI Hate Vigil

Racism targeting Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders is not a new phenomenon. But the rise in attacks against Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI) and the tragic mass shooting in Atlanta on March 16, 2021 make it clear: AAPI communities around the United States are targets of racism and racist violence. The time has come to stand up against this hate. Join the Democrats Abroad Asian American and Pacific Islander Caucus for an online vigil.

During our vigil, our members and allies will come together to speak out against these anti-AAPI attacks and show their support for the AAPI community.

Please also consider joining our virtual vigil. To participate, you can share the graphics we created and/or you can print out this sign, fill in your information, and take a picture of yourself holding the sign. All graphics and posters are available here.

All are welcome to share pictures of themselves with our posters or self-made posters on social media. Make sure to send them to [email protected] and to tag us on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram (tag @demsabroad & @DemsAbroadAAPI (Twitter)/@aapiglobal (Instagram) and we'll re-share!). If you don’t feel like taking a picture, feel free to submit a written statement here. This is a rolling action, and we'll keep adding pictures to our vigil page as we receive images in the coming weeks.

 

Auckland, New Zealand 11pm
Melbourne, Australia 9pm
Seoul, South Korea 7pm
Beijing, China 6pm
New Dehli, India 3:30pm
Berlin, Germany 12pm
Washington, D.C. 6am
WHEN
March 31, 2021 at 7pm - 9pm Seoul Time
WHERE
Zoom
Online
Online
South Korea
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Democrats Abroad Asian American and Pacific Islander Caucus ·
117 RSVPS
Janice Foerde Kendra Borgen Reed Kennedy Ebony Bühler Dash Nesbitt Mari Rutka Dana Freling Anita Kattakuzhy Geoffrey Simmons Adrienne Johnson Katie Bathgate Onelica Andrade Michelle Taube Josh Van der Ploeg Nicholas Gordon Katherine Kwun Ash Ha Amy Leang Jennifer Rakow-Stepper Alexandra Smith Laura Poe Daniel James Faith Herbold Annie Tanampai Paul Hickman Wai Tat Lei Donna Lum Lindsey Robrecht Bruce Murray Teresa Ritterhoff Victoria Pao Kathryn Tullos Pegi Jones K Moses Bryan Avery Sarah Lee Asante Ndlela Colleen Allen-Funk James Lockett Paul Smith Susan Takao Sheila Malovany-Chevallier Sophie Youngquist Karen Kao Kelly M. Paschal Lorna Gray Heidi Burch Maureen McCarthy

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?