Student Loan Relief for Americans Abroad Webinar

This event has now passed, please check out the recording from the event here:


President Biden will forgive $10,000-$20,000 in federal student loans for those who make less than $125,000 - as the key piece of a larger relief package announced on August 24. Join us for a webinar to talk about how this came about and what this means for Americans abroad.

WHEN: Thursday, September 15, 2022 View in your time zone

Time Zones
1:30pm New York
6:30pm London
7:30pm Paris
2:30am Japan (Friday, September 16)
3:30am Sydney (Friday, September 16)

WHERE: Zoom call

While there is no donation required to attend, the suggested donation for this event is $10. Click here to donate.

RSVP below, and we will send you an email with access details.

We will aim to cover questions such as:

  • How do I qualify for the $10,000 federal student loan forgiveness?
  • What do I do if I've defaulted on my student loans?
  • What is the difference between taking the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion vs Foreign Tax Credit for my student loan payments?
  • How do I get the best exchange rate to transfer money back to the US to make payments?
  • Are there any other options available to get my student loan debt and payments down?

This event is for you if:

  • you think you qualify for the $10,000 loan forgiveness but you're not totally sure
  • defaulted on your student loans and don't know how to face it
  • you've lived abroad for a long time but don't know what your student loan options are now
  • you're concerned you can't afford to pay off your student loan, or
  • you already know a lot but you just want a straightforward answer for a specific issue

The federal student loan relief was only possible because Democrats were elected! Make sure you register to vote to elect Democrats in the critical midterms by going to votefromabroad.org

Speakers: TBC

Agenda:

  • 6:30pm Introductions
  • 6:40pm Speakers
  • 7:15pm Q&A
  • 7:30pm End

Add event to calendar

Apple Google Office 365 Outlook Outlook.com Yahoo

For those unable to attend the event, the webinar will be recorded and posted to YouTube after. Please RSVP for the event anyway to get an email with the link to the recording afterwards.

IMPORTANT:  Democrats Abroad does not provide personal tax advice or recommendations.  We recommend that you engage a qualified, professional tax adviser to address questions related to your personal financial situation.

 

WHEN
September 15, 2022 at 1:30pm - 2:30pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom
CONTACT
Democrats Abroad ·
1,103 RSVPS
William Henderson Ardestiny Ojwang john rothman Adriana Bowman Amanda Schibline Wen-Wen Lindroth Maria Villacorta Ingrid Johnson Farley Stephenson Daran Suthiwan-Tadmor Shawntrice Thomas Naomi Dodd Felecia Foster Leora Glasgow Carol Moore Melany Telleen Roy Kern Sylvain Metz Caitlyn Paulsen Mary Ann Kong Patricia Ridings Lindsay Van Landeghem Cristina Bugnaru Camille Davis Gina Billy M Walker Gail Usher Shannon Linehan Jennifer Petree Olivia Gibson Melissa Tynan Benjamin Pantoja sue Alksnis Julieta Firmat Elisheva Malowicki Jacqueline Firmat Meg Obata Amanda Majorowicz Mikka Rigby gabrielle moore Jodie Tavares Joanne Dominguez Nancy Roberts-Moneir Jessica Clayton Valerie Watson Tacha Zi Plym Forshell Lyndsi Vasquez Elizabeth Blackbourn

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?