Building Allyship: Learn more to do more!

GDC-BuildingAllyship-220325.jpegBuilding Allyship: Learn more to do more.  Allyship was coined Word of the Year in 2021 by Dictionary.Com.  But what does this much-used word mean and what does it take to become an ally of the disability communityGDC Steering Committe Member Denise Roig will converse with Dom Kelly about growing our ability to put allyship into action. 

JOIN US on March 25th  at 9:00 AM Toronto Eastern Time / 2:00 PM Berlin Time.  Please RSVP below!

♿️  Building Allyship - PROGRAM

Welcoming Remarks
+Candice Kerestan, Int'l Chair
+Marnie Delaney, GDC Chair
 

DomKelly-Headshot_Nov2021.2.JPG

SPEAKER

Dom Kelly is currently the Georgia Finance Director at Stacey Abrams for Governor. Previously, he was Senior Fundraising Manager at Fair Fight Action, the voting rights organization founded by Stacey Abrams, where he also created and led the organization’s Disability Council composed of prominent disability advocates and policy experts from across the country.

Dom is one of a set of triplets with Cerebral Palsy and has been involved in disability advocacy since he was four years old. Starting when he was a young teenager, Dom and his brothers toured around the world with their rock band, touring and collaborating with artists like Indigo Girls, Joan Baez, The Bangles, and more and releasing 6 records over 15+ years. He is now retired from music, but with a decade of experience in digital and editorial strategy, he has devoted his life to progressive politics and advocacy and is finishing up his second master’s degree in nonprofit leadership at the University of Pennsylvania. He also holds a bachelor’s degree in music production, a master’s degree in journalism, a graduate certificate in social impact strategy, and a graduate certificate in interdisciplinary disability studies.

Dom currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia with his wife Catie, their dog Vivi, and their cat Pippi Longstocking.

Leading up to our event, you can read more about allyship at The Guide to Allyship:  An open source starter guide to help you become a more thoughtful and effective ally.

While there is no donation required to attend, please consider making a contribution to HELP Democrats Abroad get out the vote and MAKE A DIFFERENCE in 2022!  Please DONATE TODAY!

Washington DC  (USA) 09:00:00 EDT  
Paris  (France) 14:00:00 CET  
Johannesburg  (South Africa) 
15:00:00 SAST  
Nairobi  (Kenya) 16:00:00 EAT  
Mumbai  (India) 18:30:00 IST  
Bangkok  (Thailand) 20:00:00 ICT  
Beijing  (China) 21:00:00 CST  
       
Location Local Time Time Zone  

 

WHEN
March 25, 2022 at 9:00am - 10am Eastern Time (US & Canada)
42 RSVPS
Lauren Hakulinen Willem Bakker Teresa Ritterhoff Betsy Ettorre Bennett Moase Susan Wolfe John Baumlin Karen Ortiz Raymond Beauchemin Heidi Burch Ariel Tarr Onelica Andrade Larry Rousseau Kathryn Solon Michael Ramos Madelaine Roig joanne smale Evelyn Riera kenneth sherman Shari Ritter Judith Fox Stephanie L. Perry Randi Weitzner Allyssa Schoenemann Leedonal Moore Emily Lines Bruce Murray Martha McDevitt-Pugh Linda Foster Angela Sittaro Kate Leader Heather Stone Denise Roig Alyson McLean marnie delaney Susan Fitoussi Elizabeth Blackbourn

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?