Amplifying the AAPI Voice: Kick-off to AAPI Heritage Month with Congresswoman Grace Meng (NY)

May is the start of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month and Democrats Abroad and the Global Asian American and Pacific Islander Caucus are excited to welcome Congresswoman Grace Meng to start the month off right!

Asians now make up 7% of the U.S. population and are the fastest growing ethnic group in the U.S. By 2060, the U.S. Asian population is projected to reach 46 million. AAPI voters were also proven to be a key voting bloc in 2020, especially in Georgia and Arizona. In 2020, almost 60% of eligible AAPI voters participated in the November election. Almost 50% of those that voted did not vote in the 2016 election.

As we prepare for the upcoming midterms, we will speak with Representative Meng to discuss how we can continue to engage the AAPI community to make sure they vote again in November. We will also talk about the importance of AAPI Heritage Month, especially as attacks against members of the AAPI community continue.

We hope you will join us at this event. Please also consider making a donation to help support the work of Democrats Abroad and the Global AAPI Caucus. Your donations will help us have more events like this in the future and make sure we get out the vote in 2022! You can donate here.

 

About our Speaker: 

Congresswoman Grace Meng is the U.S. representative for New York’s 6th district. She has held this position since 2013. Previously, she represented the 22nd district in the New York State Assembly from 2009 until 2012. 

Meng was born in Elmhurst, Queens, and raised in the Bayside and Flushing sections of the borough. She graduated from the University of Michigan and earned a law degree from Yeshiva University’s Benjamin Cardozo School of Law. She is the first Asian American elected to Congress from New York and the first female Congressmember from Queens since former Vice Presidential nominee Geraldine Ferraro.

 

Washington, D.C. 9:30am
London, U.K. 2:30pm
Berlin, Germany 3:30pm
Delhi, India 7:00pm
Beijing, China 9:30pm
Seoul, South Korea 10:30pm

 

WHEN
May 01, 2022 at 9:30am - 10:30am Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Zoom
Washington, DC
United States
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Global AAPI Caucus ·
75 RSVPS
Powen Shiah Diana Shaw Wen-Wen Lindroth Teresa Ritterhoff Jennifer Lewis Robert Scott Vanya Voutilainen Paula Dupraz-Dobias Arif Hamid Simone Rosenfelder Michael Goldberg scott faigen Janet Perry Meg Davis Arnie Egel Ken Chen Kate Sawyer Tara Gadre Robynne Limoges Kenton Barnes Cindy Bjoelgerud Mark Silverstone Dyanne Rodriguez Mark Smyth Donna York Peter Isele James Mercereau Stephanie Don Donna Lum Carol Moore Byron Toben Maren Hinderlie Katie Solon Gab Langlois Arthur Schankler Robert O'Dell Gil and Anita Steiner Ausama Alkhaled James Ham Karim Foumakoye Pamela Armstrong Lewis Luo Jane Leporte Morris Grossfeld Susan Fitoussi Christophe Xavier ayizoa meke Rob Simmons Josephine Lowrey

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?