Film Screening 2: John Lewis - Get in the Way

John_lewis_film_screening_2.png

 

Join us as we celebrate the life and legacy of John Lewis and the importance of direct action. 

The son of sharecroppers, John Lewis grew up in rural isolation, seemingly destined to a bleak, segregation-imposed future. But his fate took a different turn, and Lewis rose from Alabama’s Black Belt to the corridors of power on Capitol Hill, his humble origins forever linking him to those whose voices customarily go unheard. A man of the people, a Congressional elder statesman, Lewis was as exceptional as he was ordinary.

17 July will be the one-year anniversary of John Lewis's passing. In his honor, we will be screening the documentary John Lewis: Get in the Way. After the film, we will have a discussion.

 

The filmmaker, Kathleen Dowdey, will introduce her documentary at this screening.

1527271702636.jpg

Kathleen Dowdey is an Adjunct Assistant Professor and Course Coordinator for the USC School of Cinematic Arts Practicum in Television Production. She is also Faculty Advisor for Trojan Vision, the USC campus television station. Trojan Vision produces a weekly slate of 30-minute shows broadcast live on campus cable, live-streamed on Facebook, and rebroadcast on local Los Angeles television.

In her television career, Kathleen has dozens of nonfiction writing, producing, and directing credits for broadcast and cable television (NBC, CBS, PBS, Turner Broadcasting, TLC HGTV, A&E, Discovery, and The History Channel). For five seasons she was a director (DGA) on the Emmy award-winning talk show, Dr. Phil for CBS/Paramount. She is an accomplished filmmaker with feature narrative and documentary credits, among them, the powerful biography of civil rights hero, John Lewis: Get in the Way, with a primetime premiere on PBS for Black History Month. Kathleen is a member of the Directors Guild of America, the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, and the International Documentary Association.

 

 

Watch the trailer:

https://youtu.be/eVoVM_AVuKU

 

 

Location

Event Start Time

Vancouver, Canada

09:00 PDT

Washington DC, USA

12:00 EDT

London, United Kingdom

17:00 BST

Frankfurt, Germany

18:00 CEST

Nairobi, Kenya

19:00 EAT

Dubai, United Arab Emirates

20:00 GST

New Delhi, India

21:30 IST

Bangkok, Thailand

23:00 ICT

RSVP to receive the zoom link.

WHEN
July 11, 2021 at 12pm - 2pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
WHERE
Online
CONTACT
Angela Fobbs ·
134 RSVPS
Terese Sarno Dr Carole B Corcoran Lynn Keeys Lauren Hakulinen Chris Mitchell Agatha Lowe Karen Kitchener Carol Lee Hubert mary sinclair Martha McDevitt-Pugh Susan Vaillant Effie Nabhan Deborah Roy Teresa Roche Charles Allard Steve Nardi Kenna Williams Erin Weems-McGuire Susan Brennan Lori Hakulinen Dean McIntyre Sue Ann MacBride Christina Skovsgaard Asante Ndlela Michael Robson J archambeault Karen Lee Dennis Shibut Nelleke Bruyn Jo Stern Scott Corwin Katharine Bostick marnie delaney Pierre Filatov Bill Sterlacci Wilbur Velarde Emily Raskin Perey Michelle Words Clove Haviva Megan Fawcett Jane LePorte Mark Silverstone Francine Ex Romy Overstreet John McDermott rebecca cole Linda Jimenez-Glassman Virginia Coulon

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

BC