Monday, September 11

Washington, DC

September 11th Memorial Event


Democrats Abroad's Disability Caucus and Veterans & Military Families Caucus invite you to join us as we
 memorialize the tragic events of September 11, 2001. We will honor those who passed, first responders, those who served in any capacity at Ground Zero, hospital heroes, families, and all who rose to the call to serve their country.

Attendees can expect an introduction, as well as time to share first-hand accounts. We encourage all to connect, in hopes Americans living abroad can continue to heal and find a renewed sense of community.

Personal photo submissions and other tributes are being collected for this event. If you would like to say a few words, or issue a brief statement in advance, please e-mail [email protected].

There will be a moment of silence beginning at 8:46PM Beijing time, directly corresponding with 8:46AM Eastern time, which is when the North Tower of the World Trade Center in New York City was struck. Attendees are welcome to light candles during this vigil, but silence is requested and shall be maintained.

 

*There will be absolutely no discussion of politics, nor foreign policy.

**A waiting-room will be enforced from 8:44PM to 8:51PM. Please do not attempt to access the Zoom call during the moment of silence.

Kind reminder:  rules are in place so the event may be a safe space to share, reflect, and pay tribute.

  • 8:30AM Toronto/Caracas/Santiago
  • 2:30PM Paris/Prague/Pretoria
  • 8:30PM China/Manila/Perth

WHEN

Monday, September 11, 2023 at 08:30 AM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time

CONTACT

Elizabeth Blackbourn
[email protected]

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.
If you are already a member of Democrats Abroad, please enter your name and email address that you have on your membership record.

11 RSVPs