Why We Can't Wait

As the Reparations Study Bill (H.R. 40) draws closer to a full U.S. House vote, it is increasingly clear that reparative justice is the most powerful means of reversing generational racial disparities. 

On January 16 at 5:30 p.m. CET, organizers from Nikkei Progressives, Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress, and Human Rights Watch will speak with DA on the history of the Japanese-American post-WWII Reparations and Black Reparations movements, how such redress has impacted both groups, and why we should continue fighting for this legislation at local, state, and national levels.
Our special guests will include:
  • Dreisen Heath who is a researcher and advocate in Human Rights Watch's United States Program examining and advocating on racial justice issues in the US context. She leads Human Rights Watch's domestic research and advocacy on reparations and reparative justice.
  • traci kato-kiriyama, a writer, performer and community organizer with Nikkei Progressives, who is a passionate fighter for Black American Reparations.
  • Kathy Masaoka, a Co-Chair of Nikkei for Civil Rights and Redress, a seminal organization in the historic fight for Japanese-American reparations and advocates for the passage of the 1988 Civil Liberties Act which brought the first form of reparative justice for victims of WWII-era internment camps.


January 16, 2022 at 11:30am - 1pm Eastern Time (US & Canada)
Reparations Task Force ·
Kenniss Henry Jan Tokumaru Gabriel Armas-Cardona Daphne Katranides Dr. Karen Korematsu Emily Lines Robyn T Emerson Lynn Keeys Grace Shimizu June Berk Stan Shikuma Nkechi Taifa Dawn Ehrhart Tiffany Jackson-Zunker Susan Hayase traci kato-kiriyama Patty Nagano Shirley Ann Higuchi Karen Ishizuka Julie Abo Kathy Masaoka Jeffery Matsuoka Edward Sargent Nanci Burns Joseph Tsuboi Erika Gee Lady Gozen Daren Mooko Akemi Matsumoto ruth wakabayashi Robert Kelley Kumiko Tsuchida Grace Morizawa jim matsuoka Donna Tsufura Vivian Matsushige sayo fujioka Jacqueline Frazier Nancy Oda Patrick J Bealey Elinor Davis Adrienne Johnson David Blair Dyanne Rodriguez Saehee Chang Alina Nakano Jennifer Noji Ayaka Nakaji

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?