Sunday, April 02

Zoom

Books Abroad April Discusses Lessons in Chemistry

RSVP

 

Books Abroad, The Global Women’s Caucus feminist reading group, has an original, unexpected, funny, sad, tragic book to propose for its April 2nd meeting: Lessons in Chemistry.

This runaway international publishing, reader, and critical success cleverly tells the story of Zott, a woman chemist, thwarted at every step of her life by sexism. The book is both thought-provoking and touching. (I cried at the end!)

Here is the story of a female scientist in 1961, prevented even from getting her Ph.D., prevented from using her intelligence for science, for the common good, by the system, constantly and willfully misunderstood.

“Zott is a catalyst,” says Bonnie Garmus, the author. “She’s actively breaking and creating new bonds. And that is chemistry at its most basic.”

There is a lot to talk about: feminism, history, science, religion, the author’s style, an attempt at magic realism, and many other ideas and points.

The book exists in paperback and can be ordered from Amazon or your preferred bookseller. A few used copies, in good condition, can perhaps be found on Momox.

 

Join us on Zoom on Sunday, April 2, 2023, at 10 am ET, 4 pm CET. RSVP to Receive the Zoom link. 

 

Location  Event Start Time
Vancouver, Canada           07:00 PDT
San Jose, Costa Rica        08:00 CST
Washington DC, USA          10:00 EDT
London, United Kingdom      15:00 BST
Frankfurt, Germany          16:00 CEST
Dubai, United Arab Emirates 18:00 GST
New Delhi, India            19:30 IST
Bangkok, Thailand           21:00 ICT
Beijing, China              22:00 CST

 

 

 

WHEN

Sunday, April 02, 2023 at 10:00 AM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time

CONTACT

Connie Borde
[email protected]

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.

28 RSVPs