April 03, 2019

Candidates for DANL Excom, Election and Annual General Meeting

Your Nominations and Election Committee is happy to announce the candidates for the 2019-2021 DANL Executive Committee – and to send you a ballot for our election.

The candidates are listed below. All offices are uncontested except member-at-large. So it may seem like there is little to do. But we very much need you to vote – to elect the 2 member-at-large seats, and to validate the uncontested positions, so we meet the requirements of our bylaws (a quorum).

Your ballot was sent to the e-mail registered on your DA account. Didn't get it? Email: [email protected]

You can vote by email, by proxy to another DANL member - or in person.

Absentee ballots must be emailed to [email protected] by midnight, Friday, 12 April.

Proxy voting lets you authorize another DANL member to vote on your behalf. Just choose your candidates, sign the proxy permission and hand your ballot to a DANL member for delivery at the Annual General Meeting.

In person voting will take place at the Annual General Meeting. We strongly encourage you to attend, to establish the quorum required by our bylaws.

Annual General Meeting

Date: Saturday, 13 April


Location: Spui 10, Amsterdam (entrance to the left of Cafe Esprit)

Come and meet the candidates and hear their stories. And cast your vote! During the meeting, the current Excom will also be reporting to you about the past year's work, and planning for the coming Presidential election year. And we'll welcome back Andy Tanenbaum (the 'Votemaster' of Electoral-Vote.com) to hear his take on the 2020 presidential candidates.

The meeting and election will be followed by drinks, and a chance to form committees to reinforce efforts to get out the vote in 2020.

Many thanks to everyone who is running for office – and to all members for voting.


Claire Taylor & Karen Kao

Nominations and Election Committee

Democrats Abroad Netherlands


DANL Executive Committee - Candidates for 2-year term (2019-2021)

Running unopposed are:

  • Chair: Kendra Borgen
  • Vice chair: Robbie Checkoway
  • Treasurer: Stephen Paine
  • Legal counsel: Ethan Nasr
  • Secretary: Tre’ Shawn Griffin-Noordermeer

2 members-at-large will be elected. The nominees are:

  • Ingrid Lantz
  • Adam Neufeld
  • Paul Verhagen
  • Audrey Tolbert

Check the News post below this one for Candidate Statements of those running.

Please follow the instructions on the ballot, and remember to include the email address used to receive your ballot, to verify your DANL membership.