February 14, 2023

Announcement of Biannual Elections Democrats Abroad Japan 2023





It is time again for the DAJ bi-annual officers elections! 

The 2023 Election Committee of Democrats Abroad Japan members are 

Dave Brauer, Matthew Axvig, Regina Salathe, Laurance Staples

We are pleased to be calling for nominations of candidates for the following positions:

National Officer positions: Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer & National Counsel

Members-at-Large positions (one each from): Hokkaido, Eastern/Northern Honshu, Western/Southern Honshu, Shikoku and Kyushu/Okinawa

One (1) DPCA Voting Representative

Two (2) DPCA Alternate Voting Representatives

Term: Two (2) years

Notes: no officer may serve for more than two consecutive terms in the same office. Pursuant to Article V, Section 1, “The Chair and Vice-Chair shall not be of the same sex

The Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer are also DPCA Voting Representatives.

Key dates:

2/15 –3/31 Nominations period

  • Potential candidates who want to learn more about the positions can drop in to the online Chat with the Chair sessions on Monday, February and March 27th 8~9pm
  • The National NEC will hold an Potential Candidate Q&A session online at 10~11am on the 11th of March
  • links can be found on the DAJ calendar HERE: 

4/1 -4/7 Candidate statements of 500 words due.

4/15–5/15 Voting period 

Ballots will be accepted until 23:50 Japan time on May 15th. 

5/17 Membership notified of election results.

Please submit nominations in writing no later than 23:50  Japan time on Friday 3/31 to the ElectionsCommittee to [email protected]

All nomination emails should include 

1) Complete name of person nominated 

2) Contact information including: phone, address and email; 

3) Confirmation of the position you would like to run for or are nominating another person to run for.

Please direct all questions to the Committee by email: [email protected]

The DAJ 2023 National Nominations and Elections Committee meetings will be open to observers.  Please find times and links on the DAJ Calendar HERE:

We look forward to receiving your nominations!

DAJ 2023 National Nominations and Elections Committee:

David Brauer,

Regina Salathe, 

Matthew Axvig,

Laurance Staples