Tuesday, December 31 through January 01, 2025

Washington, DC

(RECORDING) How To Invest For Americans Abroad & Dual Citizens 2024

THIS EVENT HAS PASSED.

SCROLL DOWN TO DONATE $7.50 FOR THE RECORDING.


Looking to invest but not able to find a brokerage account or worried about double taxation?

Join us for a frank conversation on investing as an American abroad.

WHEN: Wednesday, January 24th from 2:00-3:30pm EST (view your time zone)

Time Zones
11:00am Vancouver
2:00pm New York
7:00pm London
8:00pm Paris
4:00am Japan (Thurs, Jan 25)
6:00am Sydney (Thurs, Jan 25)


TICKETS: $15 General Admission or $7.50 Retired/Student/Unemployed. Recording available. All proceeds go to Democrats Abroad.

Scroll to the bottom for tickets

The aim of this event is to cover topics of investing for Americans abroad. Presented by Robert Levitt of Levitt Capital Management. Please note, this session will focus on European Union regulations but will cover basic investing principles applicable anywhere.

It is really difficult for Americans abroad and dual citizens (particularly in Europe) to find ways to invest their money in the country they live in as well as in the United States. We often feel like we're stuck in a rock and a hard place, unable to open an investment account in some cases and save for our futures. 

This session is for Americans abroad/U.S. citizens/dual citizens/expats who want to learn about the investment options available for Americans abroad, particularly in Europe. 

Topics discussed in the session will include:

  • What you can and cannot do with investments in Europe.
  • Types of accounts you can have, individual, retirement
  • How do you open a brokerage account if you are a US person living in Europe?
  • Do you need to keep a US address and phone number?
  • What is the difference between a European bank or brokerage firm versus an American one.
  • What are the concerns with investment in European packaged products (PFIC)
  • What are the concerns with investment in US investment products, such as ETFs (Mifid II)
  • Do individual countries have different savings programs? (ISA, PEA)

Attendees are asked to please pre-submit any questions you have using this form by Monday, January 22nd. The more questions we get in advance, the better we can prepare and shape the program around the things you want to learn about the most!

Ticket proceeds go to Democrats Abroad, feel free to get a $20.24 boost ticket to bump up your donation!

If you are unable to attend this event you can select the recording ticket option (scroll to the bottom of this page)

Add event to calendar

AppleGoogleOffice 365OutlookOutlook.comYahoo

Sign up to attend the other events in the Democrats Abroad 2024 Tax Webinar Series

  • Jan 10 - How To Survive Tax Day As An American Abroad (Americas/Europe Friendly Time) RSVP here
  • Jan 17 - Federal Student Loans For Americans Abroad (Asia/Europe Friendly Time) RSVP here
  • Jan 24 - How To Invest For Americans Abroad & Dual Citizens (Americas/Europe Friendly Time) RSVP here
  • Jan 31 - How To Catch Up On Filing US Taxes From Abroad (Asia/Europe Friendly Time) RSVP here

The fine print:

  • No refunds are available.
  • We can't guarantee we will be able to answer all questions submitted before, during, or after the event, but we will try to answer as many questions as possible.

Note: No tax professionals will be speaking at this webinar. If you have questions specific to your circumstances, please seek the advice of a qualified tax professional.

Please click here to add yourself to the Democrats Abroad Taxation Task Force mailing list to keep up to date with the actions and upcoming events.

Disclaimer: Democrats Abroad cannot provide individual tax advice. We are not tax lawyers, accountants or advisers. Please consult a professional tax adviser/accountant/return preparer when addressing your personal tax matters.

We recommend the IRS Tax Return Preparer Directory to find a service provider who meets your needs and budget, though buyers need always beware. Democrats Abroad suggests Americans abroad in need of tax advice consult the IRS Tax Return Preparer Directory to find an advisor or tax return preparer near you or providing online services: https://irs.treasury.gov/rpo/rpo.jsf

WHEN

Tuesday, December 31, 2024 at 11:00 PM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time through January 01, 2025

CONTACT

Democrats Abroad Taxation Task Force
[email protected]

Buy tickets here!

$7.50 Retired/Student/Unemployed Recording Be sure you're opted into emails before booking. If you're opted out, you won't be emailed the recording.

$15.00 General Admission Recording Be sure you're opted into emails before booking. If you're opted out, you won't be emailed the recording.

$20.24 Boost Donation (Recording) Be sure you're opted into emails before booking. If you're opted out, you won't be emailed the recording.

1393 RSVPs