Special Elections in 2018

We've got seats and statehouses to flip! Democrats have flipped more than 40 seats in special legislative elections across the country, let's keep the momentum. If you vote in any of these Congressional or State House Districts, your vote can be the difference! Turnout for Special Elections tend to be very low and just a few votes — such as yours — can be key.

Voting is simple. Go to to request a ballot. Fill out the form, then print it, sign it and send it to your election official.


California State Senate 32 — August 7

Vote for Democrat Vanessa Delgado     for State Senate to represent this East Los Angeles district. 

VOTER REGISTRATION postmarked by JULY 23 (online, fax or mail)
Check voter registration online: California Secretary of State website
BALLOT REQUEST received by JULY 31 (email, fax or mail)
RETURN BALLOT sent by AUGUST 7 (fax or mail)
VOTE today with the Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot (FWAB)   find out how...



Ohio Special Federal — U.S. Representative, 12th Congressional District — August 7

A district that stretches north and east of Columbus, #OH12 covers voters from Delaware, Franklin, Licking, Marion, Morrow, Muskingum, and Richland counties. The seat became vacant with the resignation of Representative Patrick J. Tiberi in January. The Republican nominee is a big Trump supporter.

Join #TeamDanny and help flip this seat with your vote for Democrat Danny O’Connor.    

Ballots will be sent by June 23 to eligible voters with valid request on file.

VOTER REGISTRATION received by JULY 9 (email, fax or mail)
BALLOT REQUEST received by noon on AUG 4 (email, fax or mail)
RETURN BALLOT postmarked by AUG 6 (and received by FRI AUG 17) (must mail)
You can VOTE with the Backup Ballot (FWAB) anytime after sending the Registration/Request form   find out how...



Arkansas State Senator — August 14

The seat became vacant following the resignation of Republican Jake Files after pleading guilty to federal charges of wire fraud, bank fraud, and money laundering.

VOTER REGISTRATION postmarked by JULY 15 (must mail)
BALLOT REQUEST received by AUGUST 7 (email, fax or mail)*
*submission by email or fax is new this year in some counties, please contact your Local Election Official to confirm if they will accept the form by Email or Fax. You can find contact information here: www.votefromabroad.org/ElectionOfficialDirectory
RETURN BALLOT postmarked by AUGUST 14 (must mail)



All times listed are local to the state.

*Note: Because the legal requirements to establish "residence" or "domicile" for tax purposes are determined by state law and the specific facts of your life, it is important that you seek advice on these matters from your tax professional. Even if registering to vote in state and local elections is not sufficient on its own to make you liable for state taxes, other factors such as maintaining a state driver's license or maintaining a mail forwarding address at a relative's home may make you liable for state taxes.