Thursday, December 14

Join us for the Gun Violence Prevention Action Team Launch!

RSVP


Thursday, December 14, commemorates the 11th anniversary of the tragic Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting. In remembrance of the 20 children and six educators who lost their lives on that fateful day, Democrats Abroad is will launch our Gun Violence Prevention Action Team.

We are privileged to have Representative Maxwell Alejandro Frost (FL-10) join us to share his insights on gun control and discuss proactive measures to avert mass shootings.
We hope you will join us for this very special event.

RSVP today!

Location Event Start Time
Vancouver, Canada                 11:00 PST
Mexico City, Mexico               13:00 CST
Washington DC, USA                14:00 EST
London, United Kingdom            19:00 GMT
Paris, France                     20:00 CET
South Africa Standard Time  21:00 SAST
Nairobi, Kenya                    22:00 EAT
Dubai, United Arab Emirates       23:00 GST

For more time zones, please use this handy website: www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

 

About Maxwell Alejandro Frost

The first member of Generation Z to be elected to Congress, Maxwell Alejandro Frost is proud to represent the people of Central Florida (FL-10) in the United States House of Representatives.

As a young Member of Congress and Afro-Latino, Congressman Frost brings a fresh, progressive perspective to an institution formerly out of reach for young, working Black and Latino Americans.

Frost was adopted at birth and raised in the very community he now represents. His mother, a Cuban-American, came to the U.S. during the freedom flights in the late 1960s and became a special needs teacher in Central Florida, inspiring his advocacy for supporting future generations through education. His father, a full-time musician, taught Congressman Frost his love for music, gifting him his first drum set and igniting his passion for the arts.

As a former organizer, musician, and community activist, Frost was inspired to get to work at 15 years old after the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary claimed the lives of 26 innocent people. From that moment on, Frost dedicated his life to fighting against gun violence and empowering communities across Florida and the U.S. to get behind gun reform, including joining forces with those affected by the Parkland and Pulse shootings to shed light on this epidemic.

In 2016, after years of organizing and advocacy work, Frost himself became a survivor of gun violence after witnessing a shooting in downtown Orlando. The experience only further committed Frost to fight for commonsense solutions to this senseless loss of life through leadership roles at ACLU and eventually March for Our Lives, where he served as National Organizing Director.

Now, as a freshman member, Frost has been appointed to the powerful Committee on Oversight and Accountability, where he will deliver on his mission of ushering justice and transparency to Floridians while fighting against House Republicans extremist attempts to politicize the work of the committee by attacking democracy and promoting ridiculous MAGA conspiracies.

Frost will additionally use his post on the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, Congressman Frost, to support Central Florida’s burgeoning status as a simulation tech hub, which employs a strong workforce across major industries in Orlando, such as aerospace, defense, healthcare, and aviation. Congressman Frost will also use his committee post to reaffirm Florida’s status as a central hub for NASA and space exploration.

In Congress, Frost is committed to representing the people of his hometown in Orlando and Central Florida and being their voice in Washington, D.C. Frost is laser-focused on working to deliver change and results on issues of housing affordability, healthcare, abortion rights, LGBTQ+ rights, voting rights, transportation, justice reform, climate change and more.

WHEN

Thursday, December 14, 2023 at 02:00 PM Eastern Time (US & Canada) Time

WHERE

CONTACT

Miguel Madrigal Hidalgo
[email protected]

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.

188 RSVPs