Events

  • Tuesday, July 07, 2020 at 01:00 PM · 18 rsvps
    Zoom and Facebook live!!

    The Future of the Green New Deal and Environmental Policy in the U.S.A.

    With the existential crisis of climate change being completely ignored by the current administration, what would a change in Senate and Presidential leadership mean for our country’s environmental policy? Eban Goodstein will tell us exactly what to expect. Q&A session with Global Youth Caucus’s Alex Rehbinder and Quyen Nguyen to follow. Please come ready with your questions! 

    Date:  July 7, 2020 at 1pm Eastern Daylight Time

    Eban Goodstein’s background:
    B.A. (Geology) Williams College; Ph.D. (Economics) University of Michigan. Goodstein is Director of the Center for Environmental Policy and the MBA in Sustainability at Bard. In recent years, Goodstein has coordinated a series of national educational initiatives on climate change involving over 2500 colleges, universities, high schools and community organizations.  He  is the author of a college textbook, Economics and the  Environment, (John Wiley and Sons: 2017) now in its eighth edition; Fighting for Love in the Century of Extinction: How Passion and Politics Can Stop Global Warming (University Press of New England: 2007); and The Trade-off Myth: Fact and Fiction about Jobs and the Environment. (Island Press: 1999). Articles by Goodstein have appeared in among other outlets, The Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, Land Economics, Ecological Economics, and Environmental Management. His research has been featured in The New York Times, Scientific American, Time, Chemical and Engineering News, The Economist, USA Today, and The Chronicle of Higher Education. He serves on the editorial board of Sustainability: The Journal of Record, and is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Follett Corporation.

    Location Local Event Start Time
    Vancouver, Canada 10:00 AM PDT
    Minneapolis, USA 12:00 CDT
    Washington DC, USA 1:00 PM EDT
    London, United Kingdom 6:00 PM BST
    Frankfurt, Germany 7:00 PM CEST
    Nairobi, Kenya 8:00 PM EAT
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates 9:00 PM GST
    Bangkok, Thailand 00:00 ICT
    Beijing, China 1:00 AM CST

     

  • Tuesday, July 14, 2020 at 04:15 AM · 7 rsvps
    Zoom-ONLINE

    The Youth Caucus speaks with Marie Newman and Ben Hardin

    June 14, 2020 at 10:15am Paris Time, 4:15 pm Hong Kong Time

    Following Marie Newman's big win in the Democratic primary of Illinois's 3rd congressional district, the Youth Caucus's Quyen Nguyen and Kaitlyn Min will speak to both her and her campaign manager, Ben Hardin! 

    To join the call, just RSVP below.

    And while you are doing that, consider joining Marie in supporting our voter mobilization efforts with a $10 donation (or more!). Donations large or small will help us win in 2020. Please consider donating today. 

    About our speaker:

    My story is like many of us who grew up on Chicago’s Southwest Side and throughout the suburbs, where my grandfather worked as a union mechanic for Braniff Airlines at Midway International Airport. Like many others, my dad, both grandfathers, and my uncles all served our country in the U.S. Army and Marines. My other grandfather, a union carpenter, built a double desk for me and my sister to study so we might be among the first in my family to go to college. I still use that desk today.

    Born at Little Company of Mary Hospital and raised in St. Barnabas Parish, I learned from an early age the importance of staying engaged in my community. As I grew up, my family relocated to Palos Park, where I attended Carl Sandburg High School and worked at Orland Square Mall.

    To cover my college tuition at Marquette University, I signed up for a work-study program, cleaning at the Food Service and hitting the books in between. I then attended the University of Wisconsin, where I graduated in four years, while also completing five internships.

    I worked my way up to become a partner in one of the largest ad agencies in the U.S. and later left to start my own successful consulting business.

    When one of my children was severely bullied in school, I founded a national non-profit program called “Team Up To Stop Bullying” with my partner, Sears, to address the problem—ultimately expanding it nationwide. I worked directly with state and federal legislators to make anti-bullying policies a priority and wrote a book designed to provide solutions for both parents and schools that is in use across the country. I have also served as a state and national advocate for health care rights, income equality, LGBTQ+ rights, and common-sense gun safety.

    The Third District needs a coalition builder and a fighter for workers, their families, and the middle-class. We need an advocate to grow small businesses, protect health care rights, and serve as a champion for education and training programs that lead to real jobs to move our district forward. I strongly believe in reducing health care and prescription drug costs, guarding Social Security, restoring workers’ rights, protecting women’s health care, caring for our veterans, and keeping Medicare safe.

    Location Local Event Start Time
    London, United Kingdom 09:15:00 BST
    Paris, France 10:15 CEST
    Nairobi, Kenya 11:15 EAT
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates 14:15 GST
    Bangkok, Thailand 15:15 ICT
    Beijing, China 16:15 CST