February 19, 2017

Georgia Special Election -- April 18, 2017

The State of Georgia will conduct a Special Election on Tuesday, April 18, 2017, for the 6th Congressional District to replace Tom Price who became U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary. This district consists of parts of northern Atlanta and parts of surrounding counties such as Cobb, Fulton, and Dekalb.

If you are a Georgia resident from the 6th Congressional District, register to vote and request an absentee ballot today at www.VoteFromAbroad.org or by clicking the VOTE link in the top menu above. Overseas citizens may use the Federal Post Card Application (FPCA), the registration and ballot request form accepted by all States and territories to request a ballot for this special election.

REMEMBER: You must 1. COMPLETE2. SIGN, and 3. SEND the FPCA to your local election office.


Eighteen candidates qualify to run

According to the State Secretary of State, 18 candidates have officially qualified to run in the Special Election. There are five Democrats:

  1. Ragin Edwards
  2. Richard Keatley
  3. Jon Ossoff
  4. Rebecca Quigg
  5. Ron Slotin

running along with two Independents, and 11 Republicans. There is no primary, so if no candidate receives a majority, a Special Run-Off Election will be held on June 20, 2017.

Georgia has also just announced another Special Election for State Senate District 32.


Be sure you will receive a ballot to vote

If you are not currently registered, your FPCA needs to be received by March 20 for you to receive the ballot to vote in the primary; if you are currently registered, your FPCA ballot request must be received by April 14.

Ballots will be sent beginning March 4 for those who have already requested them. If you do not receive your requested State ballot 30 days before the election, you can use the Federal Write-In Absentee Ballot (FWAB), also available on Vote From Abroad

Please do not assume you will receive the ballot to vote in this special election, even if you just voted in the November 2016 General Election. Detailed instructions and county contact information is available at www.fvap.gov/georgia.