June 18, 2023

International ExCom 2023 Election Results




Democrats Abroad, the official arm of the Democratic Party outside the United States, has elected a new executive committee to oversee the successful operation of DA on a global level, as well as equipping its 48 country organizations, 11 caucuses, and other committees with the resources and tools they need to enfranchise Americans around the world.

Our new International Executive Committee (ExCom) is as follows:

International Chair

Martha McDevitt-Pugh, Netherlands

International Vice Chair

Steve Nardi, Canada

International Treasurer

Josh Van der Ploeg, United Kingdom

International Secretary

Karen Frankenstein, Germany

International Counsel

Anne Brady, Ireland

Europe, Middle East & Africa, Regional Vice-Chair (EMEA RVC)

Jennifer Rakow-Stepper, Austria

Asia Pacific, Regional Vice-Chair (AP RVC)

Suma Shamanna, India

Americas, Regional Vice-Chair 

Hope Bradberry, Mexico


Our new ExCom is full of historic firsts. Our new International Chair, Martha McDevitt-Pugh, is the DA’s first queer woman chair🌈 and our first International Chair from the Netherlands. Our International Counsel, Anne Brady, is the first Excom Member from Ireland. Suma Shamanna, AP RVC, is our first ExCom member from India.

Voted in at the Democratic Party Committee Abroad’s annual global meeting, held this year in Washington, D.C., the team will serve a two-year term.

Congratulations to everyone!

Now let’s get to work and win the 2024 Elections!