February 27, 2017

Elections for DA Switzerland Executive Committee

Nominated Candidates

Nominations for the nine elected positions on the 2017-2019 Executive Committee (ExCom) of Democrats Abroad Switzerland closed on Saturday February 18. Listed below are the nominated candidates. The nine offices will be elected on Saturday March 25 at the DA Switzerland Annual General Meeting. At that meeting, additional nominations will be allowed from the floor. All candidates will be given time for a brief statement to the members.

VOTECandidates below are listed according to office, in the same order the offices will be elected at the AGM. Within each office, candidates appear alphabetically by last name, showing their city of residence and their statements. Because we have many nominations, in the interest of readability, we display here only the candidate's name linked to their full statement on the pages that follow.

Office: Chair (2)

Kate Edson (Basel)
Max I. Zappe (Zurich)

Office: Vice-Chair (2)

Yael Borofsky (Zurich)
Cresten B. Mansfeldt (Zurich)

Office: Secretary (3)

Kristen Jafflin (Basel area)
Laura Solia Shellaby (Geneva)
Elizabeth Voss (Basel)

Office: Treasurer (1)

Christian Jordan (Geneva)

Office: Counsel (1)

Hilary O’Connor Mueri (Brugg, Aargau)

Office: Member-at-Large – Membership and Voter Outreach (1)

Taylor de Graffenried (Bern)

Office: Member-at-Large – Fundraising (1)

Becky Leach-Seymour (Zurich)

Office: Member-at-Large – Events and Volunteers (2)

Robin Bognuda (Camorino, Ticino)
Katelyn M. McClung (Vevey)

Office: Member-at-Large – Press and Media (3)

Morgan Gray (Geneva)
Leedonal Moore (Zurich)
Rosemary Pontarelli (Basel)



Voting Method

Americans who are DA members as of Friday March 24th may vote. Please reply to [email protected] to indicate your attendance at the AGM. You may vote in one of the following ways:

  1. In-person voting: Printed ballots will be distributed at the meeting.
  2. On-line voting: Links to web-based ballots will be provided to members who sign up to attend by WebEx.

    If you cannot participate in either of these ways, a third possibility is available:

  3. Vote by proxy: Request a proxy form from [email protected]. Send a copy of your completed and signed proxy form to us by March 22nd, and give it to your chosen attending proxy member before the AGM. Any voter at the meeting may hold at most two proxies.



Election Process

At the meeting, the nine offices will be elected one by one, in the order shown above. Nominations for office may be made from the floor or from WebEx, as write-in candidates. This includes listed candidates who did not win their announced race. All candidates will be given two minutes to address the members. Voting by advance ballot will not be available.

This election process aligns with that used at DA international meetings, and was preferred by the Executive Committee in view of the many declared candidates. Voters will be able to meet and hear them in person, before choosing.