Former Co Chair, Global Womens' Caucus, former Counsel, Democrats Abroad France, former Vice Chair, Democrats Abroad France, Voting Representative France, Chair, Reproductive RIghts Task Force

  • Books Abroad Reads What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About

     

    Books Abroad reads What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence

    An Essay Collection Edited by Michele Filgate

     

    The Global Women’s Caucus feminist reading group Books Abroad warmly invites you to celebrate Mother’s Day with us a little differently this year. At our next meeting on Sunday, May 10, 2020, our discussion will focus on acknowledging and respecting a broad variety of experiences with mothers and/or with motherhood. Often and especially around Mother’s Day, we are inundated with messages ripe with sunny, unrealistic expectations for mothers and the mother-child relationship. Our reading for this meeting, What My Mother and I Don’t Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence, is a collection of essays edited by Michele Filgate that explores a wide spectrum of relationships and challenges us to push the motherhood ideal off its pedestal and see mothers for what they are - human.

     

    In her review of the anthology on NPR, writer Danielle Kurtzleben explains, “At its broadest level, this book is about the soul-rattling realization that despite often having the astronomically best of intentions, our mothers still mess up — sometimes in life-altering ways. It's about how, despite our love or a desperate need for them, we mess things up too. And it's also about the gut punch that happens when some children are forced to legitimately wonder just how good their mothers' intentions ever were. But then, it's about how much more livable those relationships might be if someone just said those three magical words. Those words are not ‘I love you’ but, rather, ‘Are you OK?’ Or, even more difficult: ‘Hey — I'm hurting.’”

    On Mother’s Day 2020, we hope you’ll join us in processing this work together, and, if you feel comfortable doing so, please invite your mothers/children to read and discuss with us. We look forward to exchanging thoughts with you soon!

     

    This is an online event, so you must RSVP to receive the link to join.

    Event start time by time zone:

    Location
      Event Start Local Time
    Vancouver, Canada  Pacific Daylight Time 5:30 am
    Washington DC   Eastern Daylight Time 8:30 am
    London, UK GMT 1:30 pm
    Paris, France  Central European Time 2:30 pm
    Nairobi, Kenya  (GMT+3) 3:30 pm
    Dubai GST 4:30 pm
    Bangkok ICT 7:30 pm
    Beijing CST 8:30 pm
    Tokyo JST 9:30 pm
    Melbourne AEDT 10:30 pm

     

     

    WHEN
    May 10, 2020 at 2:30pm
    WHERE
    Online Zoom
    4 rsvps rsvp

  • donated on ActBlue 2020-02-05 12:22:50 -0500

  • donated 2019-05-05 08:59:56 -0400

  • signed up on Tiny Actions Signup 2018-07-01 10:47:05 -0400

  • signed up on Progressive Caucus Signup 2018-07-01 08:33:55 -0400

  • signed up on bc_signup 2018-03-12 11:56:08 -0400

  • donated 2017-05-01 10:55:56 -0400

  • donated 2017-04-25 06:25:10 -0400

  • donated via 2016-05-12 08:51:21 -0400

    Event Payment

    Make a supporting donation to Democrats Abroad and join us for a live video conference call and Q&A session with top Clinton Campaign staff to get the latest insight into the status of the race, and learn where the last pushes are needed to win.

    Donating: $15, $25, $45, or $500 will enable you to join this update briefing call

    Donate

  • donated 2016-04-07 12:29:48 -0400

    2016 Convention Checkout

    You are almost to Berlin! Please input your payment info and the names of any additional registrants you are paying for. If you have any questions please email International Treasurer, Art Schankler Treasurer@DemocratsAbroad.org .

    Donate

International business lawyer practicing in France since 1979 specialied in international transactions and arbitration. Pro bono work in East and West Africa advising Governments on the negotiation of long term natural resource contracts, women's rights a