Unstoppable Blue Wave

All aboard the Unstoppable Blue Wave! 

Join the Democrats Abroad Global Black Caucus and Co-Sponsored by Democrats Abroad Portugal, and the African- American Community for our Unstoppable Blue Wave Midterm Debrief, Fundraiser, and 2024 strategy forecast.

Let’s share knowledge, network together, and have a great time on a river cruise!  

Saturday, November 12, 2022, 6 AM Eastern // 11 AM WET // 12 PM CET // 6 PM HKT

The boat is in the water. Whether we win at least two more Senate seats and win the House, or we are thrown back centuries — diminishing the efforts, blood, sweat, and tears of our forebears — we, as a BIPOC community, know that building political power must be an all-year-round, unstoppable effort. This is why we must take time to refuel ourselves with J-O-Y.

All are welcome to attend!

During this hybrid event, you either have the option to participate in the Full Program or only the river cruise.

RSVP for a fantastic opportunity to connect with fellow Americans in Lisbon, and meet the Global Black Caucus and DA Portugal Leadership.  

6 AM Eastern /  11:00 AM WET Opening Announcements & Speeches Tabernáculo & Zoom
6:30 AM Eastern / 11:30 AM WET Midterm Debrief Tabernáculo & Zoom
6:45 AM Eastern / 11:45 AM WET  2023/24 Unstoppable Blue Wave Strategy Tabernáculo & Zoom
7:00 AM Eastern / 12:00 PM WET   15 min break Tabernáculo & Zoom
7:15 AM Eastern / 12:00 PM WET    Surprise Movie Screening Tabernáculo & Zoom
8:40 AM Eastern / 13:40 PM WET     After Movie Discussion Tabernáculo & Zoom
9:00 AM Eastern / 14:00 PM WET      Break & Networking Tabernáculo
9:45 AM Eastern / 14:45 PM WET       DEIA Activity Tabernáculo
3:45 PM Eastern / 16:45 PM WET        Board River Cruise Docas
11:45 AM Eastern / 20:00 PM WET         Dinner Tabernáculo

The Full Program includes:

 (Cultural Program + Boat + Dinner)$ 100, which includes a $15 donation to the GBC.

  • Unstoppable Blue Wave Midterm Debrief with GBC and DA Portugal leadership
  • Surprise film viewing and cultural program
  • Two-hour river cruise with breathtaking views along the Tagus and Lisbon’s skyline
  • Comfort and warmth from the indoor boat cabin, plus blankets
  • Portuguese-American fusion dinner at a local restaurant

The River Cruise Program includes: 

(Cultural Program + Boat)$ 50, which includes a $ 10 donation to the GBC

  • Unstoppable Blue Wave Midterm Debrief with GBC and DA Portugal leadership
  • Surprise film viewing and cultural program
  • Two-hour river cruise with breathtaking views along the Tagus and Lisbon’s skyline
  • Comfort and warmth from the indoor boat cabin, plus blankets

Virtual Ticket includes:

Those participating virtually are required to donate a minimum of $ 5 to the GBC. (higher amounts are also welcome).

  • Unstoppable Blue Wave Midterm Debrief with GBC and DA Portugal leadership
  • Surprise film viewing and cultural program

For those who would like to remain in Portugal throughout the weekend, we have arranged options for dinners, brunches, additional film viewings, wine tastings, and a walking tour celebrating the diversity of Lisbon and the American ex-pat community that lives here. 


Tabernáculo by Hernâni Miguel

"On any given night, Bossa nova bands, copious amounts of wine, African food that spans the diaspora, and a rotating guest list that includes all of Lisbon draw crowds to the wine bar Tabernáculo by Hernâni Miguel.

Miguel is a cultural steward of sorts and his career details his personal philosophy to bridge the African diaspora through art, culture, food and music.

Portugal has emerged as one of those destinations that have increasingly landed on many people’s radar. In central Lisbon’s Bica neighborhood, a wine bar with a 15th-century cave attracts many artists, musicians, intellectuals, expats, and locals each week.

The essence of community is a gift that Hernâni Miguel has created each night at his wine bar, Tabernáculo by Hernâni Miguel. On most nights at Tabernáculo, Bob Marley, Nina Simone, Nat King Cole, Marvin Gaye, and Stevie Wonder play over the music system after Udi Fagundis, a Brazilian musician, performs his set." - Cuisine Noir

 

WHEN
November 12, 2022 at 11:00am - 10pm Lisbon Time
WHERE
Tabernáculo
Rua de S Paulo 218
Lisbon 1200-109
Portugal
Google map and directions
CONTACT
Leedonal Jazz Moore ·
10 RSVP S

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

$5.00 Virtual Ticket
Cultural program - Midterm Debrief with GBC and DA Portugal leadership, Surprise film viewing and cultural program
$50.00 River Cruise Ticket
Cultural program + River Cruise; includes a $ 10 donation to the GBC
$100.00 Full Program
Cultural program + River Cruise + Dinner; includes a $15 donation to the GBC