Sunday, March 24

virtual event

Inside the Second Wave of Feminism

RSVP

Inside the Second Wave of Feminism: Boston Female Liberation, 1968-1972 an Account by Participants

 

We talk a lot of how women got the vote in the USA with the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the American Constitution. The road to achieving  this right was long and hard. The US was relatively late in achieving success but it finally happened in 1920. Volumes have been written about it, about the heroics of women who took to the streets and risked their lives and their homes and hearth, children and husbands, to secure their right to vote. This was one of the first great feminist achievements in our history.

 

But how many people know that not much good happened for women’s rights between that moment and 1968 marking what has become known as Second Wave of Feminism?

 

Here is the book that gives the exciting account of a landmark radical feminist organization from 1968-1972, offering lessons for today’s women’s liberation movements. Told simply in the voices of the thirteen women who initiated and lived the moment, this history, including seminal documents seared into our psyches, shows it can be done and must be done, now, by all of us.

The right to control one’s own body (Roe v. Wade was passed in 1973) and the idea for the Equal Rights Amendment (the yet unratified 28th amendment), both now in backlash or waiting mode, had their roots in this period. Yet we seem today to be back to square one. Can women do it again? When you read this book, you’ll realize that we must and we can.

Inside the Second Wave of Feminism: Boston Female Liberation, 1968-1972 an Account by Participantsby Nancy Rosenstock.

Join us For Books Abroad on March 24, 2024 at 4pm Paris, Berlin; 3pm UK; 10 am EST

While the event is free, donations are greatly appreciated and support the Get Out the Vote effort.

REMEMBER to request your ballot via votefromabroad.org.


Location Local Event Start Time
Vancouver, Canada 8:00 AM
Minneapolis, USA 10:00 AM
Washington DC, USA 11:00 AM
London, UK 3:00 PM
Frankfurt, Germany 4:00 PM
Nairobi, Kenya 5:00 PM
Dubai, UAE 6:00 PM
Bangkok, Thailand 9:00 PM
Beijing, China 10:00 PM

WHEN

Sunday, March 24, 2024 at 04:00 PM Paris Time

WHERE


This is a virtual event. See the event description above or RSVP for virtual participation options.

CONTACT

Connie Borde
[email protected]

Will you come?

Please enter only ONE person's name and contact details here.

21 RSVPs